Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Ricoh Copier Pages Life Count

Hi all,

I am considering purchasing one of the following refurbished copiers of the following models with finishers for stapling:

Ricoh-MPC5503

Ricoh-MPC5000

Main specs that I need:
    - B/W A4 printing
    - Stapling done on top left hand corner via finisher
    - 50 - 60+ pages per minute
    - Last year I printed approx 500,000 pages (most my printing is worksheets with lots of blank space so I don't go through that much toner per page)

I am quite new to the copier world, so I had 5 questions for each of these models:

1. How many pages (count) would they normally be able to print before the drum will need replacing?

2. How many pages (count) would they normally be able to print before the not-worth-fixing problems arise for each of these 3 copiers?

3. Do the faster pages per minute copies usually have a longer life count or does it just vary from model to model?

4. Are there particular brands usually have a longer life count or does it just vary from model to model?

5. Any other tips or advice for me?

I would love to hear your opinion, even if you can't answer all of the questions. Cheers everyone!
    Michael
    Australia

Service Manager 1,000+ Posts

Re: Ricoh Copier Pages Life Count

My two bobs worth.
    i work for a major dealer and we scrapped the last of the MP C5000 a year or two ago. The MP C5503's are now hitting 5 years old and we are starting to pension those off as well.
    i wouldn't consider a 5000 as they are too old and if you can find a low page count 5503 it's going to be a few years old to start with and be prepared to pay $5k for a full drum kit and fuser every year if you are going to push half a million pages through it per annum.

However at 500k pages per year do you really want to be bothered with pissing around with a second hand copier? That sort of usage is a lot higher then some of our major accounts put through a machine each year.