Service Manager 1,000+ Posts

MPW 2401 shadow around text and solids

Guys,
    I am a total newbie to these wide formats, have inherited this from another dealer have no history of machine meter is 6000 metres A0 size only. Shadow around print mainly nearer to the outside areas. I have replaced the dev x 2 but no difference, any suggestions.
    Ignore the small spots, the scanner I used had a dirty glass.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Just a tech 250+ Posts keithxxiii's Avatar

Re: MPW 2401 shadow around text and solids

I thought it was an optical illusion...

Anyway, have you checked the health of the drum and drum case assembly? It could be that the cleaning blade is quite deformed from both sides.
    Aye! Cut the crap

Senior Tech 100+ Posts
    MPW 2401 shadow around text and solids

Like Keith said possibly drum and cleaning unit. Also check the developer bias it should be around 600. Don't rule out a old main charge corona either.

Senior Tech 250+ Posts

Toner on the LED array can give you this problem..

A quick way to clean the LED array is to remove the original feed tray (2 screws). Remove the 2 screws holding the DF unit in place and the drive belt for the DF rollers.The screws holding down the DF are towards the rear in the same area of the DF drive belt. Now the DF will pivot up and you will see the main charge and drum. On both sides of the LED array is a latch that is keeping the assembly in place. Loosen up the two screws and pivot up the LED array. The LED assembly is 3 separate units that you can now clean with a soft cloth. Don't use any chemicals on it.

Keep in mind that the DF unit when in the up position can free fall back down.

Good luck

Service Manager 1,000+ Posts

Excuse my lack of experience with these machines but would not dirty LED give white/pale lines same as a dirty laser glass?

Senior Tech 250+ Posts