Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    kfiresmith

Savin 8045/Aficio 3045 LDAP woes, weird one

Hey guys,
    I've got a few Savin 8045s here in my office that I'm trying to make more useful for everyone. Before I got here, everyone in the office was using these wonderful machines *only* for copy services, sheesh!

[disclaimer] I'm new to MFPs, I'm more of a systems guy. [/disclaimer]

My first move was to set up individual accounts with pin numbers & email addresses for a few users. This works fine, but has it's own obvious limitations, as they have to be created and maintained individually...

My next move was to set up LDAP lookups for recipient names and email addresses; everything works as it should, great.

My current task is to move the MFPs to LDAP for authentication so that any user from any location in the company can use the MFP to email scans.
    I really thought I had this 100% good to go, since the MFP prompts users to log in using their Active Directory credentials, but I've got a big problem:
    Users now cannot specify a sender address, that button is blurred out now. When attempting to email a scan, the user is prompted to enter a sender address!
    I would have thought it just used the LDAP credentials that you used to log in, but no.

Bonus question: Is there any way to auto-add the domain to a username when they are prompted to log on to the copier, example:
    right now I log on with: "userID@domaincontroller.domain.tld"; I'd freaking love it if people could just log on with "userID"

Thanks a million, copier-geniuses!

Service Manager 1,000+ Posts

You can have the machine automatically specify the sender address (User Tools > System Settings > File Transfer > Key Operator's Email Address - then turn it on in User Tools > Scanner Features > Send Settings > Sender's Name Default)

This may be moved around a bit, I was looking at a Lanier LD238c, but you get the idea...
    73 DE W5SSJ

kfiresmith
    Thanks Shadow1~!