Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Senior Tech 100+ Posts
    Ricoh Aficio 2090 toner misting and background on copies.

Question Ricoh Aficio 2090 toner misting and background on copies.

I am a small independent tech. I have a customer, print shop that bought a new copier and asked if I could keep their old Aficio 2090 running for them. I told the customer i would, but if I got stuck they'd have to call the dealer back in. I did a few minor repairs and then it needed a PM, so installed drum "Aftermarket" developer "OEM", xfer belt, charge corona and grid, cleaning blade and brush.

The customer ran the machine for a couple of months and made 40k copies. They called for a copy quality issue and when I opened the front door I noticed some toner soiling the inside of the door. I removed the cover from the drum/developer unit and noticed that toner seemed to be misting from the front part of the developing unit. It had soiled the drum and coronas. I cleaned it all up but it went right back to misting and soiling copies within about 50 copies.

I'd like to try and fix it before I ask the customer to bring the dealer back in. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Robin

Professional Moron 2,500+ Posts TonerMunkeh's Avatar
    OEM drum would be a good start. Bellini's are twitchy enough, even worse with shite parts.
    It's 106 miles to Chicago. We've got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it's dark and we're wearing sunglasses.

Hit it.

AutoMajical Resolutionist 2,500+ Posts

Check the toner tubes 1 or more are probably pluged.
    Mystic Crystal Revelations

Senior Tech 100+ Posts

I agree with Tonerbomb.

Clogged vacuum hoses were a bigger issue on the 1085, but I've seen it on the 2090s. You can use 1/4" ID hose from your local hardware store. It was such a big issue on the 1085s that I used to buy 100' spools.

Senior Tech 100+ Posts