Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Technician

UPDATING FIRMWARES of AFICIO MP SERIES UNITS

Hi,
    I am firmarly trained at AFICIO 1035/2035 units with PCMCIA service cards.Now I have many AFICIO MP series units in field. Although I have arranged firmware files but I have no adequate knowledge to update the firmware and other issues.Unfortunately no training session is available here.Would someone senior guide me briefly about the procedures to update firmwares of MP series machines.
    regards

Legendary Frost Spec Tech 2,500+ Posts

Re: UPDATING FIRMWARES of AFICIO MP SERIES UNITS

Make sure all firmware files are on the root folder of the SD card under their respective Product Code (MP4000 for example being D009) in a folder called "romdata".
    Power down machine, insert SD card to SD slot 2, power up machine.
    Machine will boot into firmware update mode, proceed with selecting applicable updates and hit enter. Machine will update firmware, ensure power is not lost.

Your service manual should cover all of this.

Copied from D009 manual for reference:
    5.30.2 UPDATING FIRMWARE
    Preparation
    1. If the SD card is blank, copy the entire “romdata” folder onto the SD card.
    2. If the card already contains the “romdata” folder, copy the “D009” folder onto the card.
    Do not put multiple machine firmware programs on the same SD card. Copy
    the only model firmware you want.
    1. Turn the main power switch off.
    2. Remove the slot cover ( x 1).
    3. Insert the SD card into SD Card Slot 2. Make sure the label on the SD card faces the
    rear side of the machine.
    4. Slowly push the SD card into the slot so it locks in place. You will hear it click. Make sure
    the SD card locks in place.

ƒ To remove the SD, push it in to unlock the spring lock. Then release it so it pops
    out of the slot.
    5. Disconnect the network cable from the copier if the machine is connected to a network.