Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Master Of The Obvious 10,000+ Posts
    Samsung CLX-3175 Drum Reset

I've been working on Samsung for over two years, and this is the first one that needed a drum replacement. It turns out that the drum times out at 24K clicks, 4 clicks per color, 1 click per B&W.

So my customer buys a drum unit, reads the directions, and installs the Imaging Unit. So far so good ... except for the fact that the "Replace Imaging Unit" message is still there.

Two hours of searching to find this in the Service Manual:

Press: Menu, #1934, Menu, "Tech Mode <Tech Mode>" OK, "Data Setup" OK, > x7 to "Clear Counts" OK, "Enter Password [????]", 1934, OK, "Clear Counts [Total Page CNT]", >x3 to "[Imaging Unit]" OK, "Clearing…", back.

It just doesn't make any sense to me for the manufacturer to sell an imaging unit as a user replaceable supply, but does not include the reset procedure with the drum unit, or in the users manual. And the procedure in the service manual is nearly incomprehensible.

Maybe this will save someone two hours of searching. =^..^=
    If you'd like a serious answer to your request:
    1) demonstrate that you've read the manual
    2) demonstrate that you made some attempt to fix it.
    3) if you're going to ask about jams include the jam code.
    4) if you're going to ask about an error code include the error code.
    5) You are the person onsite. Only you can make observations.

blackcat: Master Of The Obvious =^..^=

Technician
    I know on the larger machines they did that to support their dealers. Just like KM and the old STOP 0 0 STOP 0 1 garbage.. For the CLX-3175, I have no idea why though....

i replaced several drum units in this machine, and the counter reset itself, donīt need to manual reset the drum unit.

Maybe another model, but not the CLX-3175FN. =^..^=