Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Service Tech / IT Rep 100+ Posts JVergin's Avatar

MX-4110N Factory Reset

Hello Sharp techs -

I am a service tech for a Kyocera dealer. We recently got a Sharp MX-4110N into our office and I wanted to factory reset it before it went back to the leasing company.

I performed a factory reset of the settings but unfortunately it only reset the settings and didn't clear out the job log, address book, etc...

I then performed the setting "Initialize private data/data in machine", which does what I was looking for but apparently locks the machine afterwards?

Would someone be able to PM me instructions to unlock the machine? I assume there's a service mode to do so, but being a Kyocera tech, I don't have a service manual or knowledge on how to get into service mode.

Thank you very much!

Field Supervisor 500+ Posts JLSam's Avatar

Re: MX-4110N Factory Reset

Initializing should not lock the machine, just takes up about 1 hour to format... well everything. Also, when the machine restarts after completion of the format, you have to wait a few minutes (about 5 minutes) for the MFP to print a list of everything the MFP deleted by doing the initialization.

If you mean the password was reset, it should be "admin" lower case.

Service Tech / IT Rep 100+ Posts JVergin's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by JLSam View Post
    Initializing should not lock the machine, just takes up about 1 hour to format... well everything. Also, when the machine restarts after completion of the format, you have to wait a few minutes (about 5 minutes) for the MFP to print a list of everything the MFP deleted by doing the initialization.

If you mean the password was reset, it should be "admin" lower case.