Thanks Thanks:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Technician

[SMB] Can't get SMB to work Windows 7

Hey guys I know I'm on here a lot but I get real world answers here and I'm a learning tech. I can't get SMB to work on a Sharp MX-5001N. I have shared the fodler, shared the entire PC for that matter, removed password protected sharing, changed security policies, opened up the SMB port 445 inbound and outbound just to be sure, opened port 139 just in case, tried setting a password on the PC and turning password protect back on, tried using WORKGROUP/user as username, tried every possible path format I could think of. I get error CE-00. Can you guys chime in if you have had this prob. Thanks

Re: [SMB] Can't get SMB to work Windows 7

Make sure the firmware is up to date, the latest version is at 05.00.J2; there has been some fixes for Windows 7 scanning in this version so it should be working. Disable Windows Live Essentials, firewall and anti-virus to test. Also, if the PC is on a domain use a domain qualified name for the username e.g. domain/username or username@domain.

Technician

Quote Originally Posted by ruben View Post
    Make sure the firmware is up to date, the latest version is at 05.00.J2; there has been some fixes for Windows 7 scanning in this version so it should be working. Disable Windows Live Essentials, firewall and anti-virus to test. Also, if the PC is on a domain use a domain qualified name for the username e.g. domain/username or username@domain.
    Updating FW now...

Update: Thank you Ruben I thought it was on the latest FW until I checked it. Seems that although you have not set a domain, it only works if you use the default domain which of-course is WORKGROUP/username. It seems to take a bit to login to the server but after that the file shoots over instantly. Thank you for your help my friend.
    Last edited by EXPLOITGIO; 10-25-2013 at 10:23 PM.

arecar88