Field Supervisor 500+ Posts Phil B.'s Avatar

Suggestion/Question

I don't remember if there is this option when first creating the account.

Is there a choice of " End User" instead of "Technician" title?

We seem to be gathering a good amount of End Users and they profess to be techs and really are asking some elementary questions that even the newest of the newbie techs should know.... I personally don't mind helping anybody I can, but when they claim to be 'techs' and then repeatedly ask the basic of basic questions, and when asked " oh yes I AM a tech..." then 20 comments later admit to end user status it does get annoying and frustrating.

TIA,
    Phil

Field Supervisor 500+ Posts
    Suggestion/Question

Re: Suggestion/Question

Hey Phil, agree with you 100%. Unfortunately if end users didn't post here there wouldn't be many posts. It seems at least half the posts are end users. But that's to be expected with a non-passworded forum. Can't blame an end user if they end up here after googling their problem and old posts from this site pop up. It would be great if there was a place on this site that only techs could access.

I don't mind helping an end user "within reason" but if they are going to lie about it then I won't! I definitely will not give out information on how to enter service mode!

I do believe if you help someone it will come back to you in a positive way. Always has for me.

Quote Originally Posted by copyman View Post

I don't mind helping an end user "within reason" but if they are going to lie about it then I won't! I definitely will not give out information on how to enter service mode!

I do believe if you help someone it will come back to you in a positive way. Always has for me.
    " I don't mind helping an end user "within reason" but if they are going to lie about it then I won't! I definitely will not give out information on how to enter service mode!"