Thanks Thanks:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Senior Tech 100+ Posts

toshiba estudio series 6 (256 306 etc) slow startup

hello everyone. i am a toshiba tech. i noticed on series 6 that the cold bootup takes at least 2-3 mins to boot and always sayng checking system please do not power off the machine. is that normal? is there a way to make it fast as series 5 or at least a bit faster?

the machines i service are come to office as used so i suspect something with hdd from where they come from like a wipe before sell etc.

its furstrating to service those machines if each bootup takes 5 mins

please help

Service Manager 5,000+ Posts

Re: toshiba estudio series 6 (256 306 etc) slow startup

Low RAM, slow processor, outdated firmware = slow boot up. There is no way to optimize this.

Senior Tech 100+ Posts

firmware is up to date and it has nothign to do with slow proccesor or low ram. series 5 is faster. series 6 and 7 are slower but there must be something to disable system check on every boot. something with wipe technology hdd

Senior Tech 250+ Posts

EbX machines with the new bigger and more processor intensive Debian based Linux OS verses the light weight VXworks of EB4 but both on about the same under powered arm type processor = slow as balls.

Service Manager 10,000+ Posts

Quote Originally Posted by lazymangr View Post
    hello everyone. i am a toshiba tech. i noticed on series 6 that the cold bootup takes at least 2-3 mins to boot and always sayng checking system please do not power off the machine. is that normal? is there a way to make it fast as series 5 or at least a bit faster?

the machines i service are come to office as used so i suspect something with hdd from where they come from like a wipe before sell etc.

its furstrating to service those machines if each bootup takes 5 mins

please help
    industry standard .. when receiving a USED copier/mfp with a HDD installed... either wipe/reformat or REPLACE HDD

Senior Tech 100+ Posts