Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Pad lock

Senior Tech 100+ Posts

Pad lock

I have a customer who bought some used toshiba es2500c copiers. I noticed a pad lock symbol next to the meter count. In the admin menu I see a security icon and I unhighlight the pad locks there but they stay next to the meter. I am also not able to put the machine on thier network. I can set the network settings but can not print. I noticed that the lights on the eathernet port do not light up. Does anyone know if the pad lock might be related to this or have any other thoughts.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Service Manager 5,000+ Posts
    Pad lock

Re: Pad lock

This Parts & Service manual can be purchased for $12.77 and downloaded immediately after payment from

Just Manuals ~ The Internet's largest selection of manuals ~ Instant Downloads

Paul@justmanuals.com

Senior Tech 100+ Posts

Thanks but I am a toshiba trained tech and have them. I just have not seen the padlock before.

Senior Tech 250+ Posts
    Pad lock

The padlock tells you that a security feature is enabled. I think its the 128-bit encryption on the HDD, or maybe the data overwrite kit.. I've had copiers we've purchased from off-lease companies come back with that padlock symbol on them, but they've all been able to print and scan. So it sounds like you've got a seperate issue.

Senior Tech 250+ Posts
    Pad lock

Me again.
    I just confirmed on our machine in the shop: The padlock icon came on when I set the HDD to AES setting (128-bit encryption). This does not affect the NIC. Its rare that the NIC goes on that series. You've probably already checked this, but when the lights aren't flashing on the copier NIC its usually the customers network drop that is the problem. I'd try a cross-over cable from your laptop to the e2500c to see if you get any activity from it. Also, confirm you're cable is good.

Master Of The Obvious 10,000+ Posts
    Pad lock