Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

3530c splotchy short edges?

Our Toshiba e-Studio 3530c is printing faded edges on the short sides of 8x11 paper. I have attached a photo to show the problem.

DOC090513.pdf

It's only the black toner. I have done the following:

Replaced developer, filter, charging grid, corona blade, drum, and drum cleaning blade.

I have a feeling that it's an electrical issue, but I am an amateur tech for our office. Is it a color density setting? Why is it only near the edges?

Thanks for any help that could point me to the problem.
    Richard

Field Supervisor 500+ Posts

Re: 3530c splotchy short edges?

Quote Originally Posted by Greenspey View Post
    Our Toshiba e-Studio 3530c is printing faded edges on the short sides of 8x11 paper. I have attached a photo to show the problem.

DOC090513.pdf

It's only the black toner. I have done the following:

Replaced developer, filter, charging grid, corona blade, drum, and drum cleaning blade.

I have a feeling that it's an electrical issue, but I am an amateur tech for our office. Is it a color density setting? Why is it only near the edges?

Thanks for any help that could point me to the problem.
    Richard
    You have the 'old' style EPU - the Mag Roller surface in these units would get smooth after 100K+ and consequently cannot hold the Developer - empty the Dev onto a clean sheet of paper, if the Dev is new it should be ok to reuse, lightly & evenly resurface the Mag Roller with a fine grade emery paper .

Quote Originally Posted by canonbundy View Post
    You have the 'old' style EPU - the Mag Roller surface in these units would get smooth after 100K+ and consequently cannot hold the Developer - empty the Dev onto a clean sheet of paper, if the Dev is new it should be ok to reuse, lightly & evenly resurface the Mag Roller with a fine grade emery paper .
    Thank you! I will give this a shot. How fine are we talking? 400?