Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Senior Tech 250+ Posts

3503 Ethernet Port Not working

Got a MP C3503 in...did my typical stuff to "clean" it up....5-832-001, 5-846-046,5-801-10 & 11, and then updated the firmware.

Then after all is done, i put in the IP address i use for that machine, and hook it up to print/scan...but the ethernet port is not working, no lights are coming on in that port. The usb port works fine. I know whoever had this before me was scanning for sure with all the accounts setup in the address book.

I checked SP 5-985-NIC and USB and they are both set to "1" "enabled"

I then decided to replace the controller board which i have very little experience doing. The SM has very little on that matter, at least where i was at, it just say to unscrew it, swap the NVRAM's, and fire it up (I'm assuming thats wrong)...but then i get a 995-03 (identification code and serial number issue), basically its telling me "hey idiot, you don't know how to replace a controller board"

I made sure it had the right serial number but still no luck.

I did use a controller board from a parts machine, which could be my issue in the first place, i'm not sure if it has to be a brand new one or not.

***So am i missing something as far as enabling the ethernet port on this machine, or is it toast and i just need to learn how to properly replace the controller board?***

Any help is much appreciated...thanks!

Service Manager 1,000+ Posts

Re: 3503 Ethernet Port Not working

As long as you got the two NVRAM's swapped between controller boards, all "should" be good, assuming that you have the correct controller (D1475188).

Make sure the Dip Switches on the controller are all in the same position as the original board.

Check SP 5-811 and make sure there isn't a mismatch in the Serial number. Should match what's on the back cover of machine. Correct it if the number does not match.