PDA

View Full Version : Bizhub C353 - Reset Admin email with no web admin access

Custom Search

dditzler
01-17-2016, 06:46 PM
I am not a copier tech but I have been certified for AST printers/scanners way back in the day and my dad ran a computer graphics company. I've been building computers for over 30 years.

I got this copier used and it is my second Bizhub machine. It only has 7,500 prints on it and is in great physical shape. The previous owner had changed the admin password and I reset that to the factory settings by following this YouTube video.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_BEGMQx7woE

I was then able to get it on the network and I can get it to print. With my last bizhub I was able to setup the email settings with the web admin. On this machine I can access that page but only the home page. Occasionally I can get past the first page to see consumables but usually it just goes to a blank page. I have tried this on Mac and PC with 3 different browsers.

I can get to it to Scan to Email by changing the Communication Settings tab on the Scan/Fax page. If I change the send email to my own then I can get it to send. If I leave it on the default admin password then I can't get it to send and it gives me an error.

If I go to Utility Counter > Admin Settings > Admin Machine Settings I can see the administrator email but it is grayed out and I can't change it.

So my questions are...

1) Is there a way to reset the admin email knowing I can't get into the web interface and by just doing it on the machine?

2) I read up on the web admin not working and it looks like some people updated the firmware then was able to access that. Is that something I should hire a tech to do or is this something I can do myself? Again I looked at this and the examples I saw were to use the wed admin which is catch 22 as it doesn't work.

thanks in advance
-david

copier addict
01-18-2016, 12:30 AM
If you use Firefox you should be able to log into the web interface

Mr Spock