PDA

View Full Version : Can you replace Ethernet connector on Bizhub C654e MFP board?

Custom Search

SAR
08-08-2019, 05:25 PM
I have a customer who damaged their Ethernet connector on the copier. I'm amazed that I have never dealt with this problem in 32 years working with copiers.
Is there a way to just replace the connector without having to replace the MFP board?

Thanks!

guitar9199
08-08-2019, 05:34 PM
Depends on the model of machine. Most newer MFPs use an integrated Ethernet port...so in those cases you won't be able to replace it separately.

An option would be Hytec Dealer Services...sending it in for "Repair and Return". But as a field tech, I'd say no.

tsbservice
08-08-2019, 06:22 PM
It depends on what kind of damage customer did. I have to replace many Main/MFP/System boards with integrated Ethernet port due to electrical damages. But if they only broke connector itself my guess will be it can be replaced without specialized services like Hytec for example.

blackcat4866
08-08-2019, 08:50 PM
If it's a single layer board ... maybe. When digitals first came out I carried these cheapo modem cards you could get from the bargain bin for $5. If you have adequate soldering skills it can be done, at least on the older equipment. We had a few billable customer that broke the latching part only. If you can get a tiewrap nearby to take the tension off the connector ... that might work too. =^..^=

copyman
08-08-2019, 09:19 PM
Funny this thread would show up. I just sent a C654 MFP board to Hytec for repair and waiting for it to be returned. The symptom was no ethernet but everything else worked fine. This happen after a lightning storm. Happen to four machines, (2) C654 & (2) C754e. So in this case it's not the port that's bad.

By the way price for repair is around $450

Synthohol
08-08-2019, 10:49 PM
if the customer damaged it they can file a claim with their insurance company and just pay for a new board.