PDA

View Full Version : As long as it works don't fix it

Custom Search

Bix
11-23-2020, 10:07 AM
A nice sentence: As long as it works don't fix it
I wanted to create this thread in another section but I would like to consider this sentence for Konica Minolta engineers.
In my first months as a technician I have always been very strict on the manual. I respected periodic maintenance and periodically updated my printers. But this sometimes got me into some trouble: things that stop working that worked before my manutention.
Now I'm also on the "Don't fix it if it's not broken" team. But to what extent? For example I have the iSeries. Some of them caused me some problems while others never a single failure. In recent months, several firmware and bugfixes have been released. But do you make them?
The c3320i should now shake the development unit to avoid problems. But I have printers that in 1 year still no problem. So here two questions arise: I ignore the bulletins by running the printer and maybe it will never have problems or do I try to fix it, possibly causing a new problem?

This is just a small example. I want to hear your opinion!

BillyCarpenter
11-23-2020, 11:06 AM
A nice sentence: As long as it works don't fix it
I wanted to create this thread in another section but I would like to consider this sentence for Konica Minolta engineers.
In my first months as a technician I have always been very strict on the manual. I respected periodic maintenance and periodically updated my printers. But this sometimes got me into some trouble: things that stop working that worked before my manutention.
Now I'm also on the "Don't fix it if it's not broken" team. But to what extent? For example I have the iSeries. Some of them caused me some problems while others never a single failure. In recent months, several firmware and bugfixes have been released. But do you make them?