PDA

View Full Version : Konica Minolta Bizhub C454 falsely saying low Cyan but it's full & very light prints_

Custom Search

patterson70
01-19-2021, 04:55 AM
Hello, this is a re-post of a few days ago that I had to re-create due to ending my title with the word "Print". It appears if you do that you cannot reply to anyone offering help because you get the print-only version with no place to reply.

So, the problem with the machine is very light prints even with a full cyan toner. Thank you rrrohan and Copier Tech for your suggestions. Also Copier Tech for the attachment.

I have to admit I do not understand the attachment diagram too well. I could not get the front panel off. I took out the screws but it was not coming out.

Am I missing something? I am wondering how often the toner hopper(s) go bad?

Machine has 458K on it and I am a new tech on it without any prior service history. I am wondering if the user reset the drum and DV replacement warnings and what I am dealing with is just an old Drum and DV unit(s)?

Lastly, the Cyan DV Unit looked empty when you look into the tube that feeds it toner. Is that supposed to be full?

rrrohan
01-19-2021, 07:10 AM
If you think the dev is the issue you can check the Toner to Carrier ratio in service mode

should be about 6%

If the ratio is low you can attempt to add toner via service mode

I suspect the drum has shorted on the dev causing it to suck dev and Id be replacing both drum and dev at same time.

I recall someone once pointing out that if dev was sucked the WTB will be heavier than normal

copier tech
01-19-2021, 10:53 AM
Hello, this is a re-post of a few days ago that I had to re-create due to ending my title with the word "Print". It appears if you do that you cannot reply to anyone offering help because you get the print-only version with no place to reply.