PDA

View Full Version : C6500 DV Material or DV Unit?

Custom Search

vickash
01-20-2022, 05:57 PM
Hi all,

This is my first time dealing with a developer issue on my used C6500, and I need some advice please.

After startup yesterday I noticed there was about a 2" strip at the operator side of the machine with almost no black coverage. I pulled the developer out and sure enough, that part of the mag roller was almost bare. I wish I took a photo as soon as I pulled it, so it would be more obvious, but there's one attached. I turned the gears a small amount, that's probably why the bottom part filled in. Then some toner that was on top of the unit fell onto it when I was vacuuming, but you get the idea.

It didn't throw any codes, nor were there any quality issues before this happened. Has only run OEM toner with me, and with the previous owner, as far as I can tell from their service log.

The counters are:
DV Unit: 408k / 600k
DV Material: 111k / 200k (but 199% distance)

I swapped in the black unit from my parts machine in the meantime, and that's running fine.

Should I bother trying new developer material in this, or is that the end of this unit?

Thanks in advance!

https://i.postimg.cc/GRz3STRZ/IMG-7202.jpg?dl=1

Phil B.
01-20-2022, 06:16 PM
Hi all,

This is my first time dealing with a developer issue on my used C6500, and I need some advice please.

After startup yesterday I noticed there was about a 2" strip at the operator side of the machine with almost no black coverage. I pulled the developer out and sure enough, that part of the mag roller was almost bare. I wish I took a photo as soon as I pulled it, so it would be more obvious, but there's one attached. I turned the gears a small amount, that's probably why the bottom part filled in. Then some toner that was on top of the unit fell onto it when I was vacuuming, but you get the idea.