PDA

View Full Version : CQ KM Imaging Unit Issues

Custom Search

CoreyAbels
02-07-2022, 05:24 PM
Guys, I am hoping you can enlighten me on an issue I am seeing. I am new to the Konica Minolta product line, but not new to the industry and I am seeing a lot of issues with the Imagine Units on the Konica Minolta machines in general, and with the C3350i/C4050i machines in particular. Simply put the Imagine Units don't last. Can someone more experienced with these units give me some theories or explanations as to why that is? I've seen a number of Y IU seemingly starved of toner, I've seen low page count machines have issues with the charge rollers and overall the print quality of the IU degrades very quickly. Thanks guys!

Note: I am more than happy to provide additional details if needed, but this is more of a general, "in your experience" question. Also, I am familiar with a number of issues caused by high altitude/low humidity in the Denver Metro area, so if there are any tips or tricks, I'd love to hear them.

tech51
02-07-2022, 06:09 PM
The developer stagnates in the image unit which causes the machine to think it’s undertoned and so keeps adding toner until it either runs out of toner or codes up c255X where x is the relevant colour.

The latest firmware allows you to stir the image units more vigorously ( run stab/grad with the tray out) but they still fail with depressing regularity.

One other tip is to give the units a good shake before you fit them.

But they are in general not a good unit.

Albonline
02-07-2022, 06:28 PM
running the image quality adjustments at setup and when replacing any unit seems to help extend iu life. at least do gradation adjustment as outlined in service manual.

tsbservice
02-07-2022, 08:03 PM
running the image quality adjustments at setup and when replacing any unit seems to help extend iu life. at least do gradation adjustment as outlined in service manual.