PDA

View Full Version : Bizhub C3320i begun transfering toner into WTB


Custom Search


Labsy
11-08-2022, 09:28 AM
Hi,

I am glad to discover this forum and I am general technician, not specialized for printers, but more IT engineering. Nevertheless... here, our problems are mainly with ALL Bizhub C3320i, which we sold and which we also maintain. We upgrade FW to the latest version before we hand it over to end-customer, but practically all those printers begin eating one of color toners sooner or later, in fact, more likely sooner, some of them even after some 2000-3000 copies. Customer describes printer is heard to roll some motors when idle, and one of color toner is gone. They replace toner, but a day or two later, new toner is gone too, filling WTB.

Replacing IU and toner resolves the issue, but usually only for few thousands prints, then issue comes back.

I suspect KM has issues with bad TCR sensors, or maybe firmware is not up to the task, but I am not so deep into details to be able to judge.
Those are machines for EU market. Anyone having the same problem and managed to resolve it permanently?

techsxge
11-08-2022, 11:28 AM
Hi,

I am glad to discover this forum and I am general technician, not specialized for printers, but more IT engineering. Nevertheless... here, our problems are mainly with ALL Bizhub C3320i, which we sold and which we also maintain. We upgrade FW to the latest version before we hand it over to end-customer, but practically all those printers begin eating one of color toners sooner or later, in fact, more likely sooner, some of them even after some 2000-3000 copies. Customer describes printer is heard to roll some motors when idle, and one of color toner is gone. They replace toner, but a day or two later, new toner is gone too, filling WTB.

Replacing IU and toner resolves the issue, but usually only for few thousands prints, then issue comes back.

I suspect KM has issues with bad TCR sensors, or maybe firmware is not up to the task, but I am not so deep into details to be able to judge.
Those are machines for EU market. Anyone having the same problem and managed to resolve it permanently?
Hi,

if i understand you correctly, the Issue only is with a single color?
Do you use aftermarket Toner? Maybe switch for a different producer and see if the Issues still exists.
Maybe replace the Drum Unit of the "trouble" color.

Maybe someone has different Idea, but without further Information i'd check these first

Labsy
11-08-2022, 01:01 PM
Hi,

if i understand you correctly, the Issue only is with a single color?
Do you use aftermarket Toner? Maybe switch for a different producer and see if the Issues still exists.
Maybe replace the Drum Unit of the "trouble" color.

Maybe someone has different Idea, but without further Information i'd check these first
Yes, issue is ussualy with Cyan or Magenta IU's, while Yellow and Black are OK.
We use only OEM genuine supplies directly from Konica Minolta EU stock.

Unfortunatelly, we cannot even buy Imaging Units, becasue there is no stock anywhere. That's why I am looking for possible suggestions... :(

JasonSBE
11-08-2022, 06:43 PM
I have had ongoing issues with these machines early on dumping toner and developer. The issue usually can be fixed with a firmware update. Go to menu, then utility then device info. What is the function version and firmware version? You can get the function version on the first page, and the firmware version is on the second page.

tech51
11-08-2022, 07:18 PM
These image units are notoriously unreliable and modified units are coming out but not available yet as far as I know.
The internal developer augers have been modified to prevent developer/toner stagnation around the tcr sensor which causes this problem.
When fitting a new unit you must give it a good shake before fitment and then go into tech rep and run stabilisation with the paper tray open (j2 or later firmware).
This will make the machine do a long stabilisation run and speed up and down to stir up the developer in the units.
This should help a bit.

I made a jig to fit on the developer drive gear so I can spin the developer with a drill whilst tapping around the tcr sensor.

I have recovered a lot of units this way and once the stagnant dev has been shifted they seem to stay fixed.

Hope some of this helps.

tsbservice
11-08-2022, 11:06 PM
These image units are notoriously unreliable and modified units are coming out but not available yet as far as I know.
The internal developer augers have been modified to prevent developer/toner stagnation around the tcr sensor which causes this problem.
When fitting a new unit you must give it a good shake before fitment and then go into tech rep and run stabilisation with the paper tray open (j2 or later firmware).
This will make the machine do a long stabilisation run and speed up and down to stir up the developer in the units.
This should help a bit.

I made a jig to fit on the developer drive gear so I can spin the developer with a drill whilst tapping around the tcr sensor.

I have recovered a lot of units this way and once the stagnant dev has been shifted they seem to stay fixed.

Hope some of this helps.

+1.
Stay away from those models. 2-3 years after and they will hopefully modify around tcr cleaning flag. What a rookie design.

Markks
11-09-2022, 01:32 AM
Hi,

I am glad to discover this forum and I am general technician, not specialized for printers, but more IT engineering. Nevertheless... here, our problems are mainly with ALL Bizhub C3320i, which we sold and which we also maintain. We upgrade FW to the latest version before we hand it over to end-customer, but practically all those printers begin eating one of color toners sooner or later, in fact, more likely sooner, some of them even after some 2000-3000 copies. Customer describes printer is heard to roll some motors when idle, and one of color toner is gone. They replace toner, but a day or two later, new toner is gone too, filling WTB.

Replacing IU and toner resolves the issue, but usually only for few thousands prints, then issue comes back.

I suspect KM has issues with bad TCR sensors, or maybe firmware is not up to the task, but I am not so deep into details to be able to judge.
Those are machines for EU market. Anyone having the same problem and managed to resolve it permanently?


See attached, Also pull Image units out when delivered and shake and tap on the sides of them. just make sure machine is off and unplugged anytime doing any work on any i-series because there is always 5 volts and certain circuits . Techs have killed boards by removing image units with machine off but plugged in.
Plus
Image units depleting, possible C255X codes may occurProblem Solution
ID: KBA00052907
Related Products:bizhub C3320i,bizhub C3300i,bizhub C3350i,bizhub C4050i
Related Options:


Problem
Faded image on copies and prints.
Note: C255X code may also occur.

Solution
CAUSE: Image unit is depleted due to a possible poor connection on the HV units or failed image units

SOLUTION: Install firmware version G00-B5 or newer. The latest version firmware is available for download via One Stop Product Support. After installing firmware version G00-B5 follow attached bulletin 12202. If after applying the steps in bulletin 12202 issue still exists follow steps below along with the attached documentation for additional information. Refer to the attached document for more information. To view the PDF, you may need to download a free copy of Adobe Readerģ.

Please perform the following steps.
1. Remove the HV unit from the machine
2. Check the contacts to make sure they are straight and not bent that are located under where the board was located, they connect to each unit
3. On the HV unit gently clean the areas with sand paper or a scotchbrite pad (we have had reports of a substance or coating on the contacts) where the contacts from the inside of the machine connects to the HV unit

4. Reinstall the HV unit in the machine
5. Power ON the machine and check TCR readings for all colors they should be in the range of 6.00 if they are not, run manual toner add in service mode
6. After TCR levels are around 6.00 run the machine, It is recommended that the GDI test page be used to make the outputs. confirm the TCR values are staying steady
7 The image units may have to be replaced if the TCR values do not recover or image quality is poor

Tech Helpdesk
11-09-2022, 12:43 PM
Hi all,

We are all suffering this problem in the UK even though KM seem to think the problem is not as big as we think !

One thing we have noticed the other day whilst working on a C3300i the imaging units Cyan and Yellow failed, so our engineer fitted replacement yellow and cyan IUP35C and IUP35Y in error (should have fitted IUP36C and IUP36Y) and the machine is working fine !!!

Has anyone else tried fitting IUP35 units instead of IUP36 (to the C3300i) or IUP36 units instead of IUP35 (to the C3320i) ? and what was the outcome.

Are we being conned here ?

tech51
11-09-2022, 06:28 PM
Hi all,

We are all suffering this problem in the UK even though KM seem to think the problem is not as big as we think !

One thing we have noticed the other day whilst working on a C3300i the imaging units Cyan and Yellow failed, so our engineer fitted replacement yellow and cyan IUP35C and IUP35Y in error (should have fitted IUP36C and IUP36Y) and the machine is working fine !!!

Has anyone else tried fitting IUP35 units instead of IUP36 (to the C3300i) or IUP36 units instead of IUP35 (to the C3320i) ? and what was the outcome.

Are we being conned here ?

Trouble is both types are the same design and equally rubbish so if thereís a big price difference I would just fit the cheapest one👍

yurisan
04-14-2023, 12:19 AM
I consulted KMBS on this issue of obtaining and maintaining good TCR levels on these machines = C3320i and C3300i. You absolutely need to remove the IU's prior to startup, shake them side to side to distribute the developer inside, and run the Stabilization several times (rinse & repeat, as the KM techs say), then run Initialize and Stabilize. You then check your TCR levels and they should now all be in that 6.0 range that has been mentioned here. It was also stressed to me by tech support to be sure to secure the top screw for the IU first. Since we have followed this procedure - zero problems. These machines run great!

suomi
04-14-2023, 12:38 PM
Symptome
Abnormal high toner consumption and IUís do not last the specified lifetime.

Cause
The paddle part of the spiral beat screw shaft is not wide enough to remove the remaining developer at the paddle parts right above the TCR sensor (red circle).
Therefore wrong TCR sensor values are measured.
Countermeasure
Measure 1:
The comb type paddle will be changed to one sheet type paddle.
Additionally to that, the quantitative alteration of developer in the IUís will be increased from current Color 120 gs & BK 110 gs to 150 gs for both of production part and after service part.
The current schedule for measure 1 is December 2022.

Measure 2:
A warning indication on operation panel will be added, to pay enough attention to take care of peeling the tape from the toner cartridge. The indication will pop up every time, when a toner cartridge was inserted into the machine. The indication can be disappeared by the operator on the panel.
The current schedule for measure 2 is September 2023.

tsbservice
04-14-2023, 07:46 PM
Hello. What a twisted mind can come to idea to change old proven flag type clearing TCR sensor to comb type :confused:

REGSIS
04-16-2023, 07:46 AM
Hi all,

We are all suffering this problem in the UK even though KM seem to think the problem is not as big as we think !

One thing we have noticed the other day whilst working on a C3300i the imaging units Cyan and Yellow failed, so our engineer fitted replacement yellow and cyan IUP35C and IUP35Y in error (should have fitted IUP36C and IUP36Y) and the machine is working fine !!!

Has anyone else tried fitting IUP35 units instead of IUP36 (to the C3300i) or IUP36 units instead of IUP35 (to the C3320i) ? and what was the outcome.

Are we being conned here ?

Luckily some of us cannot be conned that easily.
As usual, there is a small difference within 2 units.
In this case, you can swap front cover plastic (2 screws), and use IUP35 instead of IUP36 and vice versa.
Swapping front plastic will make IU slide all the way in.
Comparing these two plastic, you will notice a small "bump" wich is different (from inside).
Everything else is the same.

Imsdal
06-28-2023, 03:34 PM
Hi,
I was getting C2557 all the time, the machines was trying to add some black toner but could not reach the normal procent. it show 0,32%
I went to service mode and add toner manually (10 times) but it only reach to 3,44 %.
I downloaded the latest firmware same result.
I took the image unit out and I poured toner direct to the image unit chamber and after that was showing 6,5 %, I did a stabilization 2 times and Image Gradiation 2 times 3 times for each.
Everything was working fine when I left the machine, now the client call and say that It need a new toner cause the machine is empty, but cartridge is not empty.
Is there anything else beside for a new image unit.?

Best regards

//David M

Custom Search