PDA

View Full Version : c6501 expectations

Custom Search

gig0
02-28-2009, 01:34 AM
1 1/2 month old install: what should I expect as far as front to back registration on the c6501?

Since yesterday, Ive been noticing front to back registration has been "wandering" on long runs by as much as 1/16th of an inch to an eighth inch.

Are my expectations too high and/or am hypersensitive? I'm still learning whats acceptable right now in the digital world because I originate from an offset prepress background and have learned to "let go" of some of the critical aspects.

What should I expect?

random
03-02-2009, 05:18 AM
gig0,

Which direction is it wandering? lead edge to trail edge or up and down?

You are using pf601 or lu202 when you have this problem?

gig0
03-02-2009, 08:02 PM
it's wandering from the operator side to the back side, so I guess that would be up and down. I've been using tray 5 (the invoice says pf601 on it so I'm guessing thats it).

And I'm not exactly sure if it's always done it but definitely noticed on Friday because of a tri-fold panel job I was running (2up on 12x18 80# gloss text). The panels needed to line up front to back because of the folds so positioning and registration was critical. I had to stop the job 2 times to input new offsets for the image position in order to compensate the shift. The funny thing is, the second time I put in new offsets to compensate, I went back to the original measurements used to set the job up at the very beginning.

random
03-02-2009, 11:38 PM
Gig0,

If your paper guides are not set evenly or your paper is 1mm shorter or wider the engine will print 5mm out of register (sorry I'm metric) randomly. Measure your paper and check. If it has been cut to narrow/wide just put it in as a custom size. It is very important to keep the paper guides exactly the same width. The register should not move regardless of the age of your machine.