PDA

View Full Version : C350 color IU counters

Custom Search

mascan42
06-24-2009, 11:27 PM
I have a C350 that the customer barely uses for color. They have a grand total of 9000 color copies on the thing. All of a sudden, all 3 color IUs are asking to be replaced.

I've ordered new IUs (as an official KM tech, I'm not allowed to re-chip them), but I'm confused what could make the counters on all 3 suddenly max out? And will it happen again?

cboucher
06-24-2009, 11:52 PM
Maybe it's set to do Process black instead of just using the black IU.

mascan42
06-24-2009, 11:58 PM
No, that would register as a color copy. Only 9000 color copies ever made in the entire life of the machine.

Plus that wouldn't explain all 3 IUs going AT THE SAME TIME.

pepper38_cnd
06-25-2009, 12:04 AM
When you say you are an "official KM tech" I take that to mean that you work directly for Konica Minolta not an Authorized Dealer. If that is the case then you should be well aware of all the issuses on IU Life and low color volumes. Yes it sucks! If you have made all the changes KM has recomended and you still can not even come close to the recomended yield for an IU! Just be glad it's KM taking the hit! For all the rest we will rechip and hope to get more.

cboucher
06-25-2009, 01:16 AM
No, that would register as a color copy. Only 9000 color copies ever made in the entire life of the machine.

Plus that wouldn't explain all 3 IUs going AT THE SAME TIME.
Sure it would. Like you said, every black copy would register as a color copy. So by that rationale, every black click would generate a CMY click AT THE SAME TIME.

mascan42
06-25-2009, 01:28 AM
That might make sense, except they've never had to change any of the color toners. Ever. So that clearly isn't what's happening. Plus, I've seen the IU counters on this machine before, and they weren't moving because they weren't being used.

abilashvk
06-25-2009, 02:53 AM
Friend,