PDA

View Full Version : Min. Di251f-WTF?? Very strange problem?

Custom Search

mjunkaged
08-07-2009, 03:26 AM
Okay, I'm a 22+ year tech, and am factory trained on the NEC version of both Minolta Di250/350 and 251/351's . I have read both brand's service manuals cover to cover more than once.
First time I have seen this one.
This one's a Di251f. The 'f' is important.
When you copy on the glass, everything's fine. BUT:
when you lay a letter size, short-edge feed original on the glass (ADFR is fine) , it only scans 5.5 inches and then goes home! This ONLY Happens with this ONE SIZE, and ONLY in fax or scan to ftp modes! Copy mode scans it fine!!
I'm thinking partly blown fax board or the little rom board that comes with it?
Anyone seen this before?

Scott_Lewis
08-07-2009, 05:14 AM
Before you try all that, you might want to try an F7. (Original size calibration)

mjunkaged
08-07-2009, 06:12 AM
I did try that, but not 100% sure I cycled power immmediately after per the SM.
I'm not clear if I'm supposed to exit out as usual and then cycle power, or to just IMMEDIATELY cycle it.
I was also toying with the idea of shutting down, disconnecting the battery and the MFB2 (I think it's called, mistakenly referred to it as tne 'nrom' in my post-oops!)
and seeing if it clears any 'glitched' setting that may be present. I also seem to recall there may be a 'hard reset' jumper onthe fax board.
It's such a minor problem, I'm guessing the customer will just live with it/ work around it if a fax board or the other board that gets installed is needed.
Can't find the install instructions for the fax option and haven't done it in a long while, used to swap them around practically weekly.
BTW, do you have any idea what the F7-2 does? It's not in my manual?
Thanks.

pepper38_cnd
08-07-2009, 12:02 PM
I would not recommend playing with batteries on NVRAM boards, unless you like headaches. Look at SW423 bit 3?

mjunkaged
08-07-2009, 02:40 PM
Scott: