PDA

View Full Version : C5501 - Print Quality Issues

Custom Search

WoodyC
10-21-2010, 07:33 PM
Hi All,

first off, I'm not an engineer - but I do have a lovely collection of screwdrivers. I'm having some print qaultiy issues with our recently installed C5501. It ran beautifully (albeit mostly B&W) for the first couple of weeks but ever since we had it's first service it 's had lots of little problems. I've seen lots of C4520 errors which for the most part have been cleared by re-setting the machine. I've also had problems when printing onto SRA3 in B&W where the print on the trailing edge is faded. The engineer yesterday said it was the paper and the one who came out today (for initially a different problem) said it was toner starvation and said we should run less B&W. I've also got splodges of toner or Dev on some sheets.

Being the adventurous type I popped open the transfer area and noticed that the transfer belt wasn't tight. I've attached a couple of photos to demonstrate but they may not be very clear. Basically the near edge was tight but the back edge was loose, at the top the belt was wrinkled and underneath where it loops round a roller the near side had some give but the far side was solid. Also the belt had some bad marking and appeared to be a bit more to the back than front.

I guess what I'm asking is is that normal and subsequently, could that be causing my issues with the print quality?

Link to my album showing the belt and bad print (hope that's OK)
WoodyC's Album: KM C5501 (http://www.copytechnet.com/forums/members/woodyc-albums-km-c5501.html)

minimerlin
10-21-2010, 07:41 PM
Hi WoodyC

From the pictures it would seem that something is wrong with the fitting of the belt and it is marked. What was the meter reading of the machine when it was serviced..was it just a Pm or a fault? I would get the engineer back to fix the machine! These units are too complicated for untrained screwdrivers to be let loose on!!

tech51
10-21-2010, 07:47 PM