PDA

View Full Version : CQ BH PRO C6500 Card Stock CQ Problem. HELP


Custom Search


ineo+6501
11-11-2010, 06:11 PM
Hi Guys,

I have a C6500 which is misbehaving on 350gsm SRA3 stock.
See the attached image. Looks like the sheet is stalling somewhere.
Changed decurling rollers, fixing exit rollers and no change.
There are no visible burrs or any damage on the fuser exit passage.

I am aware that the machine is only rated to 300gsm but the customer has had the same stock through another C6500 with no problems. And I have had it through several 6501's with excellent results.

The 6500 in question is on 2.7mil.

Any pointers or workarounds would be gratefully received.

Cheers

RRodgers
11-11-2010, 07:50 PM
Hi Guys,

I have a C6500 which is misbehaving on 350gsm SRA3 stock.
See the attached image. Looks like the sheet is stalling somewhere.
Changed decurling rollers, fixing exit rollers and no change.
There are no visible burrs or any damage on the fuser exit passage.

I am aware that the machine is only rated to 300gsm but the customer has had the same stock through another C6500 with no problems. And I have had it through several 6501's with excellent results.

The 6500 in question is on 2.7mil.

Any pointers or workarounds would be gratefully received.

Cheers

I can't see the image on my phone, but maybe try the belt line speed adjusment.

albasoul06
11-12-2010, 12:13 AM
The Bypass Tray and Tray 5 in the PFU are the only trays that support 257gsm to 300gsm.

mrwho
11-12-2010, 12:21 AM
It's been a long time since I last serviced one of those, but I once had a problem with a smudge in that position and it could be solved - or at least mitigated - through the process adjustment on the tray properties. I don't recall which one exactly, but try for a while on each adjustment with some variation upwards and downwards until you see some differences on the printout.

ineo+6501
11-12-2010, 10:07 AM
Thanks for the thoughts guys. And I can confirm that the stock is being fed from tray 5 and on 257-300gsm setting. It is coated-GL SRA3.

I'm heading over to the customer now and I'll have a crack at your suggestions.

HORSE
11-12-2010, 01:30 PM
Ha thats an easy one

350 gsm is outside the spec of the machine end of story.

But I suspect that stock is long grain, if you ran 350 gsm short grain it will probably improve it.

Better still if you really require 350 it should be mondi .... if you use crap long grain stock that your average backstreet printer buy then you are going get crap results like that. Its an absolute non starter.

Stirton.M
11-13-2010, 03:27 PM
you can also try to adjust the timing settings as well...might be something simple as that...

anothertech
11-13-2010, 04:29 PM
Make sure the machine is sending out the copies faceup.

ineo+6501
11-15-2010, 10:32 AM
Thanks guys.

HORSE, I have already informed the customer that 350 is beyond spec, but he has a valid point that the same stock has been through 4 other 6500/01's without problems.

Stirton, is there a way to adjust the timing for just 257-300 setting? I don't want to cock-up the timing for all other settings?

Anothertech, the machine does not allow face down on 257-300.

HORSE
11-16-2010, 07:24 AM
Thanks guys.

HORSE, I have already informed the customer that 350 is beyond spec, but he has a valid point that the same stock has been through 4 other 6500/01's without problems.



Its not valid at all, last time I was in Japan BT said they will only support recommended stocks or stocks that are within Spec.

I would say that its a more valid point that all those other machines that run this stock without problem could at any stage in the future do the same thing, who knows...... but my 11th Commandment is "if it ain't broken, don't fix it!!"

Stirton.M
11-16-2010, 01:02 PM
I agree with Horse on that particular point....

And for your customer, print and give them one of these....

7193

If they do not like the response, too bad. I will never make the machine do what it was not meant to do.

HORSE
11-16-2010, 01:41 PM
...... but my 11th Commandment is "if it ain't broken, don't fix it!!"

Sorry thats my 12th Commandment.

11th Commandment...."cover thy Ass"

beetle73
03-02-2011, 03:38 AM
Try using short grain paper instead of long grain.

PoonKing5000
04-25-2011, 10:21 PM
Has there been a resolution to this problem? I have a machine that is displaying the same issue.

Andy

CT Copier Repair
04-25-2011, 10:28 PM
Yea
use recommended stock

i had a company that used RS232 comm lines for data transfer ( i was corporate tech support)
new machine better com specs but they would not communicate
turns out the length spec of 50 ft was not being followed got the same response they used to work
upon investigation they were spending about 10 man hours a week to get the machines to communicate garbled data dropped connections
called manufacturers engineering deptartment in
they took one look at the lenght of the data lines
said out of spec and walked out
charged the branch 35,000 for travel and expenses and it was done
just becaue it worked doesn't mean that it will continue or ever even has
have you run these jobs on the supposedly working 6500's ever seen it work
oir did the customer tell you it worked
start there and then repeat after me Stock is out of spec

PoonKing5000
04-25-2011, 10:32 PM
Thanks for your reply. My client is using recommended stock. In my case it also appears when printing on plain paper just not as visible as when printing on heavy stock but the paper they are using is within spec. The "band" is always in the same spot and never moves.

ineo+6501
04-26-2011, 05:45 PM
The problem was improved to the point where the prints were approved by the customer but it was only evident on 350gsm.
If you are getting a similar problem on any stock then that's a whole different ball game.

Check the fuser entry and exit guides for toner build up or foreign objects which could cause the sheet to stall.

seniortech
04-26-2011, 06:29 PM
Do not use 350gsm on this machine end of story...

ineo+6501
04-27-2011, 09:20 AM
Do not use 350gsm on this machine end of story...

Hmmm, yeah thanks for that

Bizhub
05-09-2011, 11:38 PM
The 6500 only supports 300gsm max as everyone else has told you.
But if you have a banding issue on 300 gsm, go into paper setting folllowed by process adjust, then go to the final page (3) and set transfer pressure to Normal.

bigdcopy
05-10-2011, 02:29 AM
Check the Fuser Drive Gears There are 4 one way gears on the front of the fuser unit that will cause this problem (I cary them in stock because of various problems they cause) also on the exit side of the fuser there is a slide normal position is in the center try moving it to the right (front of machine) this releases the pressure of the 2 gray iddle rollers on the fuser exit section.
If you have several C6500's on site try swapping fusers (they are the same for 6500,01,5500,65hc)

empiru
05-13-2011, 11:50 PM
If I were you, I would simply change the Fusing Unit with another one, from another machine that works fine on 350 gsm and see if the problem is resolved. If it is, then it's clearly a problem with the Fusing Unit - you will have to closely inspect it and find any broken rollers...

Custom Search