PDA

View Full Version : Konica Minolta C252 no light on ethernet plug

Custom Search

Wilbury Hove
11-12-2010, 06:50 PM
Hi All, I'm not a techie but am fishing for some different guidance to that already received or, you may agree with that advice.

Basically, I bought this machine 2nd hand and the attraction was the page count being less than 2k. The machine is in very good condition. I'm a one man band surveyor and the idea was to have this machine phase out 3 separates including a b/w copier, colour printer and scanner.

Unfortunately, there are no output lights on the ethernet plug on the KM. We tried different cable combinations and different ports on our router but this showed the ethernet port is at fault. We've proved this to be the case by using cable/router port combinations on machines that already work.

Consequently, I called a service engineer who immediately told me I would need a new printer control board and this would cost £1400 - ouch. Well I can't afford that.

A second company who this time came to see the machine said the same thing but they would offer a second hand board at a lesser cost but still too much.

I've looked at the board. I can see no burnt out components or anything obvious. We've also checked that the board is enabled. The board reference is 4038-0121- (this next bit is in a white painted box 016041408) 4038-6022-01.

If anyone has any alternative suggestions or, could suggest another strategy then I'd be extremely grateful to hear your views.

Many thanks.

JSC
11-12-2010, 07:59 PM
The 1st thing I would do is connect a lapie via a crossover cable to your C252, if still no joy then I would upgrade/reflash the firmware, and then a Nic and/or NVram recovery. Then and only then would I be looking at changing the main PCB

pepper38_cnd
11-12-2010, 10:13 PM