PDA

View Full Version : Setting Network Scanning Options

Custom Search

bschriver
01-21-2011, 09:30 PM
I am new to the KM BizHub Di5310...

I went through the network settings and configured all my tcp/ip settings. I also configured the ftp information for where the scans were suppose to go. I also had to configure some buttons which I thought would be the one touch scanning and delivery options.

But once you are back on the main console, how to do I actually select to send a scan to the ftp site?

On the console there are two buttons: one says just scan and the other says Scan +Extras. when I press the scan + extras it says I do not have this option installed?

The scan button brings up a one touch menu screen but the only options seem to be to email the scan? I actually just want to drop them to a folder on our ftp server (which is our file server).

Any direction I could get on this would be great.

kronical
01-22-2011, 12:51 AM
This model has 2 scan options available. Basic scanning and "IP" scanning. Basic scanning allows scan-to-email, while IP scanning allows SMB share scanning and FTP scanning. IP scanning is your "Extra Scan" button.

bschriver
01-24-2011, 01:52 PM
Thanks for that information. So when I press that button (Scan Extra+) on the console, I get a beep and the console displays the following text:

"This feature needs option unit."

I am assuming this is some type of hardware unit for the device? So at this point it sounds like I am going to need to scan and email the files. This is a crappy way of scanning as it is going to really bloat my email in boxes for users as I know they will not save these files on the network but rather keep them in their in box.

If you need a special piece of hardware to be able to do this, why does the Admin 2 section of the Utilities allow you to even configure the File Destination/FTP information? Seems I should have gotten the same message there too.