PDA

View Full Version : Print to C360 from DOS

Custom Search

swt
02-14-2011, 02:09 PM
Hello,

our latest request for help relates to printing to a C360 from dos as a first step to print from an older finance package.

I've set the printer up using the net use command and can send a job to the printer from dos ok but, from the error on the machine, it looks like it's not transferring the authentication code (account track auth error).

The printer is using C360SeriesPCL driver.

Are we asking for too much in trying to print to this machine from dos?

mo0651
02-14-2011, 02:13 PM
Where in DOS can you put the authentication code?

swt
02-14-2011, 02:28 PM
Where in DOS can you put the authentication code?

I've no idea as I'm no expert in DOS.

oldschool
02-14-2011, 03:02 PM
When yous say the "The printer is using C360SeriesPCL driver" does that mean you installed a dos version of this driver? Dos programs used to have their own drivers. Not one for the entire OS.
I have a suggestion, We have some older DOS based programs that did not have the proper drivers for a newer printer. Our work around was to print postscript files and convert them to PDFs. We used Adobe distiller to convert the postscript files. Then you can print from a more up to date OS.

swt
02-14-2011, 03:21 PM
No separate DOS driver - just the same PCL6 driver that was set up on the server for normal printing from Windows.

The software supplier suggested we configure basic printing from DOS on the PC in question before trying to print from the application.

Any guidance on how to set up a specific DOS driver for the C360 - if that is possible?

We also have access to a Bizhub 601 should that be a better option.

oldschool
02-14-2011, 03:48 PM
Is this a DOS OS or a DOS program running in XP in compatibility mode?

swt
02-14-2011, 03:53 PM
It's a program that runs on a standard XP Pro machine linked to a SQL 2000 database. I believe the version we are using was written before Windows was printer aware.