PDA

View Full Version : Konica 7033 - no image

Custom Search

schrodingers cat
08-20-2007, 06:32 PM
Konica 7033 - it scans and then the engine seems to run as usual, but instead of the correct image, it lays down a random-looking layer of about 10% toner. By the looks of the image, I'd guess that the scanned image is not being burned into the eletrostatic drum and the image is a result of whatever static is on the drum instead.

We have tried resetting the machine, with no change in the results.

I'm not a copier technician (my background is in computers and printing presses). If anyone has seen this problem before, I'd love to know what you think, and how expensive a repair might be -- I'm about ready to pitch this machine for something cheaper to own anyway.

Thank you.

08-21-2007, 11:15 AM
I have seen a bad front door switch cause this. It's a weak spot on this model.

CMB
08-21-2007, 11:43 AM
its starving for toner. check the toner motor on the toner hopper-make sure it turns when running auto add toner. i seen this happen several times and its easy to troubleshoot.

two screws removes the cover. the toner motor is the one closest to you when hopper is swung fully to you right. its on the bottom end.

those motors burn out on the inside. if it doesn't feed toner to the dev unit, copies will be light.

Mark B
08-21-2007, 02:09 PM
It is the front door interlock. You can take it apart and clean it with an erase.

CMB
08-22-2007, 12:09 AM
all that front door switch is going to do is turn the fuser off or on. nothing to do with light or dark copies.

if so.

please explain. been working on 7033's for 5 years and never had a front door switch cause any issues.

ebm
08-22-2007, 01:24 AM
all that front door switch is going to do is turn the fuser off or on. nothing to do with light or dark copies.

if so.

please explain. been working on 7033's for 5 years and never had a front door switch cause any issues.