PDA

View Full Version : Limit Color Print via Active Directory

Custom Search

Facch
07-12-2011, 06:27 PM
I have 2 Ricoh SP430DN printers and multiple MPFs (MPC2800, MPC3001, MPC4501 and MPC300SR) deployed. We use a Windows Server 2003 printer server and are currently using the Ricoh PCL6 Universal Print Driver. I'd like to control access to color printing capability by identifying a "ColorPrinting" group in active directory. Since, I'm a total newb to Ricoh configuration, is this something I can do? And does anyone have experience setting up the printer/mfp through Web Image Monitor (or telnet)?

Choro1dal
07-18-2011, 08:19 PM
It is possible to restrict access to these devices, you will need to configure Windows Authentication for each device. The procedure can be found in the Windows Authentication section of the security manual for each device.

A couple of points additional points to note.

1. Enabling Windows Authentication on the MFDs will restrict access to all functions, (Copying, Scanning etc.) not just colour printing. If it's purely colour printing/copying you wish to restrict you should elect to run with User Code Authentication.

2. It is not possible to limit usage per account on Pre GW2009A+ controllers. It's either allow/disallow.

Facch
07-19-2011, 02:12 PM
Choro1dal,
Thanks for the response. I'll need to mess with this a little bit. I really only need to limit color printing/copying. I don't need users to authenticate each time they use the equipment. Fortunately, I don't need to limit all the printers/MFDs... just a select few.
Facch.

akewldewd
02-25-2015, 12:22 PM
Choro1dal,
Thanks for the response. I'll need to mess with this a little bit. I really only need to limit color printing/copying. I don't need users to authenticate each time they use the equipment. Fortunately, I don't need to limit all the printers/MFDs... just a select few.
Facch.