PDA

View Full Version : Bizhub 283 "failure to start" message


Custom Search


fixthecopier
08-12-2011, 12:15 AM
When you turn it on it will come up to "Ready" for about 1 minute. You can even make a copy or 2 and then this message appears also saying to turn the machine off for a while. I disconnected all the add ons and unplugged the fax and reseated everything on the control board and called tech support, which produced no results except to make me start a thread about their hold music. Anybody seen this? I am betting I have to change the Operation Control Board.

CompyTech
08-12-2011, 12:59 AM
lol That msg cracked me up. Could be a firmware thing. Hopefully not a NVRAM prob. Maybe a prob with the MFP board but I just taking a guess. :(

Spidula
08-12-2011, 06:48 PM
When you turn it on it will come up to "Ready" for about 1 minute. You can even make a copy or 2 and then this message appears also saying to turn the machine off for a while. I disconnected all the add ons and unplugged the fax and reseated everything on the control board and called tech support, which produced no results except to make me start a thread about their hold music. Anybody seen this? I am betting I have to change the Operation Control Board.

Justy pulled this of konica Infohub. Hope it helps!!



bizhub 223
bizhub 283
bizhub 363
bizhub 423



[Option]




[Subject]
"Failed To Start" message soon after powering ON.


[Description]






"Failed to start. Please power down the main switch." message.











[Solution]












PROBABLE CAUSES:
1. Possible FK-508 Fax Kit failure or the Fax Kit is not installed and the MFP is incorrectly configured.
Verify the presence of a Fax Kit. Ensure that, if there is no Fax Kit installed, the machine settings are correctly configured.
Service ModeaSystem 2aOption Board StatusaFax (Circuit 1 or 2)aUnset.
If an installed Fax Kit has failed, please replace it as necessary. Reboot machine.

2. The machine is equipped with a Fax Kit and an Hard Disk Drive (HDD). The HDD is not enabled or properly formatted.
Enable the HDD (HD-516):
a. Enter the Service Mode and select System 2.
b. Select HDD and select "Installed".
c. Once the hard drive is enabled, access State Confirmation and select "Memory/HDD Adj."
d. Next, select HDD Format and perform the Logical Format.
e. Reboot the machine.

3. Bad connection between the FK-508 Fax Kit and the Overall Control Board (OACB).
Reseat the USB cable between the fax option and the OACB.

fixthecopier
08-13-2011, 12:35 AM
That is good stuff, I wonder why my tech support rep diddnt find it? Thanks.

lilleputte
05-21-2014, 08:33 AM
Howdy!

1. Enter the service-mode.

2. Go to, system 2.

3. Go to, option board status.

4. Make sure the fax circuit 1 and 2 is not active.

_____________________________

The problem for me was that the fax circuit 1 was active when I do not have a fax-unit installed


/Lilleputte ;);)

blackcat4866
05-21-2014, 02:41 PM
My inclination is HDD. Let us know what you find. =^..^=

charm5496
01-04-2016, 09:36 PM
Just ran across this on a used 283 where the fax unit had been removed at some point. Unsetting the fax circuit 1 resolved the issues I had with this machine.

mitchl
01-20-2016, 09:42 PM
My inclination is HDD. Let us know what you find. =^..^=
I ran into this a few weeks back going Frankenstein on a bh223. It had some funky problem and they started switching boards including NVRAM. The machine would throw the failed to start warning and they would change the NVRAM with the other one and go in a check to see if anything was turned on that shouldnt be................ Of course there wasnt that info is kept in the NVRAM and on the other NVRAM they were swapping the fax was turned on. Great mystery solved, let me ask you this Cat, have you seen in any publication from KM that tells what exactly is stored on the NVRAM? I figure there might be a something in a Theory of operation manual or some other training publication, let me know if you can think of anything.

fixthecopier
01-21-2016, 12:22 AM
Wow, I posted this 4 and a half years ago. Sorry I forgot to post resolution. That batch of machines had no hdd and most of the customers had me disconnect the fax for security.

blackcat4866
01-21-2016, 01:12 AM
... Great mystery solved, let me ask you this Cat, have you seen in any publication from KM that tells what exactly is stored on the NVRAM? I figure there might be a something in a Theory of operation manual or some other training publication, let me know if you can think of anything.

No, I don't know of any publication, but I do not keep up very well with the pubs. I'm covering just too many brands and models to cover anything very well. But I think that's the norm these days.

What I can offer to you is my more recent experience with SSD's recently. SSD's serve basically the same purpose as the NVRAM. They hold the machine's serial, settings values, counter values, HDD firmware, IP address, scan to email settings. Some of that information is stored in multiple locations, but I can't be sure what. Maybe emujo has something to say? =^..^=

emujo
01-21-2016, 06:34 PM
Some of the best stuff I have found is located in the KM learning place, SSD 101 WBT. You can get a pretty good handle on the functions, and troubleshooting/replacement here. Manual just says "don't do this or that" but no real explanation of what is going on. Emujo

mitchl
01-21-2016, 06:42 PM
Some of the best stuff I have found is located in the KM learning place, SSD 101 WBT. You can get a pretty good handle on the functions, and troubleshooting/replacement here. Manual just says "don't do this or that" but no real explanation of what is going on. Emujo Thanks as always Emujo and happy new year to ya!

Custom Search