PDA

View Full Version : Jamming DI470 jamming/stoppage

Custom Search

techhelpbr
08-29-2011, 07:02 PM
I am a PC/printer tech, and I have been trying to diagnose multiple problems with this DI470. I've done a lot of work with copiers/MFPs, but I'm not a bona fide copier technician. Your answers to my questions will probably be to call in a real copier tech, but that's not going to happen in this case. The buck stops with me and my supervisors are making my life hell until I get this !$#@$#@! thing working again.

Background: This copier was moved from one location to another across town. The people who moved it were not gentle with it and it hasn't worked properly since the move. The door latch assembly on the right side had one of its "teeth" broken off, which was causing the door not to close tightly enough and was generating door not closed error. I replaced the latch and now I don't get the error. I've also found various other miscellaneous bits of broken plastic within the machine, none large, but where they came from I have no idea.

Problem #1

Paper is stopping at positions #9 and 10 (as shown on the LCD display), specifically right at the point where the paper path makes the change from vertical to horizontal. At that first roller where it is pulled into a horizontal path, where the paper would enter if using the bypass tray. At first I thought it might be a dirty/worn roller slipping on the paper, but I cleaned it thoroughly. Also, when the stoppage occurs, you can't just pull the paper out (unless you want to tear it) without dropping the transport assembly, so the roller is gripping the paper quite tightly. I don't think that's the problem. For some reason the roller is stopping as soon as the paper enters it.

Problem #2