PDA

View Full Version : any set up techs?

Custom Search

tpolley
08-31-2011, 04:07 PM
i'm an in-house set up tech. we sell new and used canon and ricoh (lanier) copiers. everything that we sell goes thru my shop.

i'm always looking to improve and streamline my setup process.

right now i'm working on 3 used copiers that came back from a construction company. they're filthy. i've spent the last 2 hours wiping the outside with a combination of simple green and "D" ink. it's nothing for me to spend 6 hours just cleaning some used machines. this dust and grime gets EVERYWHERE! i'm having to use q-tips to get in the tight spots. i'm not even half way thru. i still have the inside to clean. i've been doing this for 6 years and this is one of the worst machines i've had to clean. my hands and finger tips are suffering. i have to stop every so often and wash my hands and apply lotion.

i've been trying to get the owners to install a big utility sink but they won't do that. there's no water hook up and there's no drain anywhere near the shop. we have a kitchen-ette up front but customers frequent that area and they don't want me to mess it up. i thought about buying a portable dish washer to hook up in the kitchen-ette. i would still have to get the heavy stains with "D" ink before washing.

how do y'all clean used equipment?

mojorolla
08-31-2011, 06:15 PM
What about a parts washing station? It is basically a sink atop a 55 gallon drum. Real nice to have for cleaning greasy parts. We had one at my previous place of employment and it was great.

Solvent-Based Parts Washers and other Parts Washing Equipment at MSCDirect.com. (http://www1.mscdirect.com/eCommerce/NavigationServlet/Lubricants-Coolants-Fluids/Parts-Washing-Solvents-Solutions-Equipment/Solvent-Based-Parts-Washers/_/N-77enu?cm_re=Category-_-BodyLink-_-Solvent-Based+Parts+Washers)
:)

nightshade
08-31-2011, 07:22 PM