PDA

View Full Version : Electrical Bizhub 600 internal breakers keep tripping

Custom Search

techhelpbr
05-14-2012, 08:21 PM
I have a Bizhub 600 that I've been dealing with for several months now. While in use the machine will arbitrarily just shut off. Using the power button does nothing when this happens. I figured out that the two internal circuit breakers inside at the lower right on the rear of the copier were tripping. Resetting these breakers by pushing the buttons restores power to the machine, which runs fine until the breakers blow again.

Supposedly a professional electrician tested the wall current at the socket and found it to be within specifications. I checked it myself with my multimeter and found the current to be from 118v to 120v, within normal range. I replaced each of the two breakers, and that seemed to have alleviated the problem for a while, but recently they began tripping again.

I'm no electrician, and honestly don't know much about this copier either. I figure that either the wall current is bad or is spiking, or that some device inside the copier is drawing too much power. If it's spiking, perhaps I could put it on a UPS to even out the current and see if that helps (which, if it did, would confirm that the problem is with the wall current and not the copier).

If it's something internal, does anyone out there have any ideas as to what it could be? I've studied the manual in detail, and searched the web, but have been able to find no help in either. If any of you have any idea where to start, I'd be grateful for the help.

Thanks.

copymech
05-14-2012, 08:30 PM
I had a simular problem on a canon ir600. a fellow tech had pinched a signal wire going to the fuser. took me many trips to find it. i would find out what work had ben done to the copier and carefully inspect those area for pinched wires.

techhelpbr
05-14-2012, 08:57 PM