PDA

View Full Version : Bizhub 361 memory full / insufficient memory when scanning


Custom Search


blazebusiness
09-13-2012, 04:39 AM
Customer used to be able to scan 30 pages or more but now after scanning 10 pages the display on the copier says memory full then deleting job. I have not seen this problem before but found the following bulletin:

Solution ID
TAUS1001253
Description
Out of memory indication when scanning a "normal" document. Memory utilization reads 94%.
Solution
CAUSE: Hard Disk Drive (HDD)failure.
SOLUTION:Replace the HDD
Wanted to see if any of you guys have run into this and had some feedback or ideas------ before I go and order a hard drive. Thanks..........................

Shadow
09-13-2012, 04:57 AM
try doing a logical format on the drive and then test the system.

blazebusiness
09-13-2012, 05:04 AM
try doing a logical format on the drive and then test the system.

Just got the call today and tomorrow in the morning I'll go there and start with that. Thanks for responding. Have you seen that problem before? I've seen insufficient memory indicated with the fax function before which turned out to be the CF card but never had this happen with the scanning feature.

Shadow
09-13-2012, 02:29 PM
yes I have seen this before. it is generally corruption on the HDD from all the scanning and such.

dallas
09-13-2012, 07:07 PM
Check also the CF Card. Search for the "flatdir" directory on CF Card and erase all content.

blazebusiness
09-18-2012, 07:00 PM
Sorry to take so long to update this post.......work has been insanely busy. Went out to copier and the customer can scan 14 pages but no more than 14 before memory full message deleting job comes up. (They used to be able to do 50 or more). They scan to a folder on the computer in pdf format. Went to service mode and under "option" hdd showed it was not installed so I enabled the hard drive and cycled main power and now in service mode it shows it is installed but if you print out the machine configuration under "list" in service mode it shows hdd unset and not installed. Ran the hdd check in service mode and it comes up as all sectors good no errors. But list printout still showing hard drive not installed. Any ideas appreciated.

blackcat4866
09-18-2012, 11:39 PM
I had something similar happen on a C360. No scanning, won't print barcodes. The HDD showed not installed, UnSet in service mode. I changed it to Set in service mode, Re-entered all scanning data, reloaded barcode font, and all is good.

Unable to fax, scan, or use User Boxes. User Box and Fax/Scan buttons only double-beep. One-Touch User Box Registration button is absent from Utility/Counter menu. Barcodes are not printed from BAAN print jobs. Hard drive is disabled (un-set). To enable HDD: press Utility/Counter > Meter Count > Check Details > stop 00 stop 01 > System 2 > HDD > Installed > End > Exit. Perform data clear. Re-enter IP and SMTP information. Load Movie Data. Load Barcode to HDD.
=^..^=

blazebusiness
10-23-2012, 06:55 AM
Ok, to close out this post........hard drive was completely absent from machine. Since customer did not have the hd-509 option the scanning was limited. Funny thing was since I was erroneously told that they had purchased a machine with a hard drive I went into service mode under option and installed/enabled the drive and the copier accepted this input with no error code. If you install the fax under option in this machine when it does not have the fax option installed you get an error code but not with the HDD. Anyway, the fix was to sell the customer the hard drive. Thanks for the replies.

blackcat4866
10-23-2012, 03:13 PM
Thanks for following up. =^..^=

Custom Search