PDA

View Full Version : Electrical KM-2560 DP + Engine Board Problem

Custom Search

nickmycar
01-20-2013, 10:54 PM
Hi All,
This is my first post but I have been using this site and its wealth of knowledge for a few months now and I am hoping that you can help me solve this problem concerning a Kyocera KM-2560.

History:
Our customer called rang up and booked a service call because the Document Processor was not working at all. I.E when they tried to copy through it, the machine did nothing.

I attended site and as reported the DP was not responding, I restarted the machine with the same result.

I entered maintenance mode to perform U203, U243, U244 etc, and I could not select them. When I scrolled through, the listing jumped any item relating to the DP.

I powered off the machine and removed the back cover and checked all the wiring and plugs for secure connections to the DP and on the main engine board.

On inspection I found a black burn mark on fuse F38 on the main engine board. The plug adjacent to it YC31 supplies 24V & 5V rails to the DP.

The machine is in a correctional center so I am not allowed to take much in the way of tooling, only a Philips and straight blade screw driver. There is another machine next to it, so I loaded the defective machine into the van and take it back to the workshop.

I received a new engine board but I also soldered another fuse over the top of the blown one to test the original board in an old unused 2560 I have out the back.

The old machine works, but had a hard life and just needs new consumables. I put the repaired board in and the machine works fine for a few hundred prints I put through it.

I then swapped the DP from the damaged machine to the test machine and the fuse blew straight away. DP non functional. And not recognized in maintenance mode.

So that tells me the problem is in the DP, but my question is how can I test the DP to determine exactly which component is at fault?