PDA

View Full Version : Bizhub 283, need second opinion before I smoke this board


Custom Search


fixthecopier
06-05-2013, 03:09 PM
The call came in for a grinding noise and doc feed not working


When I showed up, the adf was un-set from the machine. I went into service and tried to set it. It did not take. The screen says I can't copy fax or scan because the scanner is not functioning. When I check the fault indicator at bottom of screen, it says the adf is unavailable. No error codes appear.

Then I RTFM.

The adf is wired through the scanner relay board, which I have ordered. With the adf unplugged, scanner is still dead.

I logged a call with tech support, and came up dry.

My concern is that if something in the adf blew the scanner board, it will happen again. I will boot the machine with adf disconnected. If it boots and I can find nothing wrong in adf, I will plug it in and hope for the best.

Have any of you experienced anything similar or have any other ideas?

RRodgers
06-05-2013, 03:42 PM
The call came in for a grinding noise and doc feed not working


When I showed up, the adf was un-set from the machine. I went into service and tried to set it. It did not take. The screen says I can't copy fax or scan because the scanner is not functioning. When I check the fault indicator at bottom of screen, it says the adf is unavailable. No error codes appear.

Then I RTFM.

The adf is wired through the scanner relay board, which I have ordered. With the adf unplugged, scanner is still dead.

I logged a call with tech support, and came up dry.

My concern is that if something in the adf blew the scanner board, it will happen again. I will boot the machine with adf disconnected. If it boots and I can find nothing wrong in adf, I will plug it in and hope for the best.

Have any of you experienced anything similar or have any other ideas?

I'd crack it open and make sure all the motors turn nice and free for starters.

blackcat4866
06-05-2013, 08:49 PM
Maybe pertinent, maybe not?

I've found staples on the ADF control board can cause some very unpredictable results. Such staples could have toasted your scanner relay PWB. =^..^=

EarthKmTech
06-05-2013, 10:32 PM
if the adf or scanner have been locked out, a fault code would of been generated and the user would of pressed the onscreen instructions to continue operation without the faulty component.

are you absolutely certain no codes have been logged in the service code history on the machine ?

fixthecopier
06-06-2013, 12:03 AM
if the adf or scanner have been locked out, a fault code would of been generated and the user would of pressed the onscreen instructions to continue operation without the faulty component.

are you absolutely certain no codes have been logged in the service code history on the machine ?



Thanks for replying guys.

I have not found anything that is supposed to move that will not.

I did not see anything on the adf board, but have not checked for pinched or damaged wires yet.

I did check the service codes and found none, however, I will make it a point to look again. My 40 pound puppy chewed my glasses up Saturday, and the frames had to be special ordered. In other words, things are a little fuzzy. I should be able to see better tomorrow.

fixthecopier
06-14-2013, 01:23 PM
Did not mean to leave this thread hanging. The machine never coded. last code was 3 months ago for paper tray. When I went back and verified the power supply was sending power to the scanner board, i changed the scanner board. Made no change. I have since tried to go back with an MFP, but the place has been locked down and I can't find an escort in. I will update when I get in.

Custom Search