PDA

View Full Version : Buying recommendation required: new C224(e) or used C253?

Custom Search

Mindstorm
06-09-2013, 10:17 PM
Hi all,
i'm currently looking to buy a new C224 or C224e. I've no experience with this series. So it's the latest and hopefully the greatest model. Printing volume is approx. 2000 colour pages a months with a little bit scanning and low faxing volume. It'll replace a color printer.
For the same price i could buy a used and checked C253 with warranty. This machine is known as solid worker - at least what I have heard. So, based on your experience in the field, which of both would YOU recommend?
Thanks for your feedback!

blazebusiness
06-10-2013, 03:56 AM
Hi all,
i'm currently looking to buy a new C224 or C224e. I've no experience with this series. So it's the latest and hopefully the greatest model. Printing volume is approx. 2000 colour pages a months with a little bit scanning and low faxing volume. It'll replace a color printer.
For the same price i could buy a used and checked C253 with warranty. This machine is known as solid worker - at least what I have heard. So, based on your experience in the field, which of both would YOU recommend?
Thanks for your feedback! Same Price? No brainer.....get the new one. The C203/C253's were solid but had some issues with the laser units. Or get a competitive bid on a used machine from another company. No way the used C253 should cost the same as a new C224.

Avskrap
06-10-2013, 07:03 AM
Like blazebusiness said; It's a no-brainer. Go with the new one. The C253s are old and although it's right what you said about them being solid workers, they've had some problems. The C224s are solid machines from what I've seen, we've sold a bunch with a 3 to 100 service calls to machine ratio.

Taminol
06-10-2013, 07:18 PM
Wow, I can't believe people are selling secondhand C253's for the same money as a brand new C224!
And secondly, I find it even more difficult to believe that people are actually buying them!