PDA

View Full Version : MK 6501 Dreadfull Registration and Skewing, Sheet By Sheet

Custom Search

SmokinAussie
12-12-2013, 10:24 PM
Hi There,

I'm an owner of a KM 6501 with Tray 4 and 5 PF, and the large SD-506 booklet maker. I do have a full field service manual and access to the service menu on the machine.

I am no expert, but even the techs are stumped with this.

Registration front to back, sheet to sheet can vary by more than 5mm. I've done what I can regarding CD Skew and Registration loop timing, but as I said I'm no expert.

Is there anyone out there who could give me a "step by step" registration setup for Idiots, or if such a tread already exists, please point me to it.

Any assistance would be very greatly appreciated

Regards

Bill

P.S. My Smokin' is BBQ! Low and Slow!

methogod
12-13-2013, 11:16 AM
your PF is not level...

well test this first.

Run some 60# 11x17 from tray 1, set it up to get close to what ever you use to test - get a test file to register close to perfect.

then just move the paper to tray 5. using the same paper profile.

Now it should be off a bit, but it should not be off 5mm.

thats one way..

SmokinAussie
12-13-2013, 11:01 PM
Right,

I'll try this and let you know.

Thanks...

Herrmann
12-14-2013, 01:10 AM
This is from a Troubleshooting Guide:
The centering sensor located at the PFU exit detects paper edge and calculates the off-center
amount. For the correction, the image writing position is shifted according to the detected
off-center amount to achieve high accuracy of the registration between side 1 and side 2.
The off-center detection range is +/-5mm and if off-center amount exceeds the detection range,
the centering correction mechanism cannot work. Consequently, the image suddenly shifts
by around 5mm.

So you should check out at first, if the centering sensor is clean and its opposite, a black tape is not worn or soiled with white paper dust. Then control, if the paper deck is properly aligned with the mashine.