PDA

View Full Version : SMB Scanning and Server 2012R2


Custom Search


tervel12
06-18-2014, 11:03 PM
Hello,

I have a customer that is unable to scan to SMB on their new 2012R2 Server. I have set this up with Server 2012 (non R2) with no problems but I do not know if there is something different with R2 that is causing the problem. We are constantly receiving a Server Connect Error when scanning to this server.

This is a brand new server install and there is no other software on it yet. The firewall has been disabled. They have a 2008R2 Server that they are replacing and we are able to scan to that as well as the Windows 7 computers in the office. We just cannot get it setup to scan to the 2012R2 server.

Any ideas??? Thanks.

emujo
06-19-2014, 02:20 PM
Try changing the SMB settings from 1.0 to 1.0/2.0 under client settings, you also have some NTLM settings under SMB server settings for NTLM and Kerbros. Try one at a time. I also like to browse from the MFP back across the network to see if the MFP is able to see the target host. If you can see everything on the network except the 2012R2 server, then it's probably not a copier issue. Let us know if making any of these changes get you anywhere or you get a different message. Emujo

tervel12
06-19-2014, 03:01 PM
I did try changing the NTLM setting from v1 to v1/v2 and that made no difference. I will get in touch with their IT guy and see if he can make the other changes you recommend.

Can a C280 browse the network from the op panel? I know the e-series machines can do that but I didn't think that the c280's could.

emujo
06-19-2014, 03:21 PM
Yes they can, as long as the TCP/IP settings are correct..domain, DNS, and SMB sharing is enabled through the control panel. Emujo

MFPTech
06-19-2014, 04:11 PM
Hello,

I have a customer that is unable to scan to SMB on their new 2012R2 Server. I have set this up with Server 2012 (non R2) with no problems but I do not know if there is something different with R2 that is causing the problem. We are constantly receiving a Server Connect Error when scanning to this server.

This is a brand new server install and there is no other software on it yet. The firewall has been disabled. They have a 2008R2 Server that they are replacing and we are able to scan to that as well as the Windows 7 computers in the office. We just cannot get it setup to scan to the 2012R2 server.

Any ideas??? Thanks.

It looks like a Firewall issue to me. Try with DHCP on and MAC address reservation.

emujo
06-19-2014, 04:22 PM
Server 2012 R2 also uses SMB 3.0, the MFPs don't support this yet. You may have the server guy check this out and make a change to use SMB 2.0. Emujo

stan780953
06-20-2014, 02:41 PM
I've had issue with this on the C364e series and a firmware update or windows update has sorted the problem

Take a look at the known issue in this link Windows 8.1 and Windows Server 2012 R2 General Availability Update Rollup (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2883200)



(http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2883200)

rrrohan
06-20-2014, 04:24 PM
I had this problem on same config. Wireshark data capture showed with working to begin with but then being denied when it attempted to write data. Replicating on same model and same server OS in office it worked. I put it back to IT.

tervel12
06-23-2014, 07:24 PM
Thanks for all the input. I have given this information to their IT administrator and he is going to give these ideas a try and let me know the results. He is a contractor for the customer, so he is not always there. Hopefully he will get around to it sooner than later.

Thanks again and I will update once I hear back from him.

WildbillC
06-23-2014, 08:22 PM
I've had issue with this on the C364e series and a firmware update or windows update has sorted the problem

Take a look at the known issue in this link Windows 8.1 and Windows Server 2012 R2 General Availability Update Rollup (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2883200)



(http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2883200)
Same here only it was a C454....."bizhub C454, C554 Special Firmware Version GCA-70 Correction of Scan to shared folder on Window 8/Windows Server 2012R2 by SMB, Server connection error occurs"

818tech
07-11-2015, 01:19 AM
Hello,

I have a customer that is unable to scan to SMB on their new 2012R2 Server. I have set this up with Server 2012 (non R2) with no problems but I do not know if there is something different with R2 that is causing the problem. We are constantly receiving a Server Connect Error when scanning to this server.

This is a brand new server install and there is no other software on it yet. The firewall has been disabled. They have a 2008R2 Server that they are replacing and we are able to scan to that as well as the Windows 7 computers in the office. We just cannot get it setup to scan to the 2012R2 server.

Any ideas??? Thanks.

Hello Tervel12 / Hello Everyone,

I hope this Thread is still active as the latest post was over a year ago.

I have a customer with a bizhub 600 that is unable to scan-to-smb on their new Windows 2012 Server (non R2). Their (contractual) I.T. guy had/s just successfully setup the scan-to-smb on a Windows 2003 Server few months ago and the customer decided to upgrade. Now the IT guy is having a problem with the server's end. With the 2003 he disabled a few Security Signatures and was able to get the MFP and the server communicate, but with 2012 he said it's totally different. When a document it sent from the Copier to the server, the error is: Sending Failed.
The Firewall is turned off for setup purposes.

Is there any chance you can shed some light on how you configure or what you did on the server's setting? or maybe you have a Technical Bulletin of the step-by-step procedure on how to setup scan-to-smb on the server 2012 for bh 600 or any similar Konica Minolta models?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!

MFPTech
07-11-2015, 03:43 PM
AllowLegacySrvCall should be changed to 1 in the LAN authentication level settings.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/957441

818tech
06-04-2016, 01:03 AM
Hello,

After a few months I got a hold with the IT guy again.
The way he was able to get it working for a 2012 (non R2) server was disabling SMBv2 & 3 leaving SMBv1 only.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/2696547

Thank you for the help!

Custom Search