PDA

View Full Version : Tri-fold skewed paper

Custom Search

wseyller
01-26-2015, 09:53 PM
FS535 + SD512 attached to Bizhub 654. Has 589,000 on counter.

8 1/2 x 11 plain paper

The amount of skew varies. Sometimes it folds ok but most are skewed and the amount of skew varies.

Half folds are perfects

I took the SD unit amount and removed enough parts to get to the folding area. I didn't see anything that could cause this. Mylars look ok. I cleaned all the rollers really good but this made no difference. This is the first time I've had to take one of these apart. Been lucky this whole time till now.

The image is good on the paper. I know for sure the paper is straight as it enter the finisher entrance.

dljorg
01-28-2015, 03:10 PM
Sorry I have no specific knowledge of these particular models but in general KM folders are famous for having the folding rollers with the bearings in plastic carriers. When these carriers crack the result is skewed folds.

You say half folds are OK but trifolds are not. Most units use one fold roller set for half folds and two roller sets for trifolding. Should be able to find the locations of the roller sets used for half and trifolds in the Theory of Operation section of the service manual. Once you know the roller set to look at look close. The cracks are not always obvious. I would go so far as to suggest replacing all the plastic carriers in the folder based on the age of that unit but take pictures before you start. Adjusting the fold rollers after they are out can be a challenge.

wseyller
01-29-2015, 07:39 PM
Thanks for that information. I will check this.

Synaux
01-29-2015, 08:04 PM
I have never seen any of the finishers trifold without without a 5-12% or so error in folding (especially if when you try to trick em with 22#+ weighted papers).

Does it do this on all folds?