PDA

View Full Version : Electrical FD-503 blowing ICP


Custom Search


Frostwolf
01-27-2015, 05:18 PM
I have an FD-503 that keeps blowing the IPC1 on PDB (Punch Drive Board).

Only thing on Konica Minolta site has is to replace the PDB board & confirm sensors PS1, PS5, & PS6, and troubleshooting says the ICP1 is for internal 5v only.

I can replace the ICP and it may last 1 sec, 1 minute, 1 hour, or a month before it blows again. This unit came from a Konica Minolta dealer with the ICP1 blown, I replaced it and it ran for nearly 2 years before blowing again.

I've have looked at the wiring harness's till I'm cross eyed, we can't find anything shorted, cut, or damaged in any way. We have replaced the following electrical components. (Post Insert-er from an FD-501 makes up most of the parts)


PDB (Punch Drive Board)
FDB (Fold Drive Board)
FDOB (Folder Operation Board)
PIDB (Post Insertion Drive Board)
DCPS (DC Power Supply)
JAMIB (Jam Indicator Board)
MFDB1 & MFDB2 (Multi Feed Detection Board's 1 & 2)
Sensors replaced (21 Total) (PS1, PS5, PS6, PS35, PS36, PS44, PS47, PS31, PS38, PS39, PS41, PS42, PS45, PS48, PS46, PS37, PS40, PS32, PS33, PS43, & PS34)
Motors replaced (6 total) (M1, M17, M3, M9, M8, & M7)
Solenoids (SD13 & SD14)
Variable Resistors VR31 & VR32
Clutches CL1 & CL2


The FDCB (Folder Control Board) is the last original board in the folder.

Any suggestions or anyone have an FD-503 they could sell?

allan
01-27-2015, 05:38 PM
It could come from your supply side. Use a slightly higher rated ICP.

Synaux
01-27-2015, 05:38 PM
If you do indeed have no grounding/short issues, I would look at the power board. If I am thinking of the same thing, I had a somewhat similar issue with a PH relay board blowing the ICPs after a few minutes on a c650--I tore that thing almost all the way to the chassis, but never could find anything that looked remotely wrong. The power board was cost prohibitive to replace so I use it as a parts box.

Synaux
01-27-2015, 05:40 PM
Oops Allen beat me...
If you look at the spec sheets for those ICPs, they have no internal protection and I think is why they blow so easy.

Frostwolf
01-27-2015, 05:48 PM
I haven't been able to confirm where the 5v comes from the Power supply only has 24v. Does the 5v originate in the machine or does the PDB create it from the 24v?

I can't find any ICP's that are higher than 2.3a to try. The factory used part appears to have been obsoleted (http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/ROHM-Semiconductor/ICP-S23TN/?qs=%2fha2pyFaduhu3VQ%252bbkFLR4NEE5LvN4F2n8crRuZZ x0ByDo%2f26QvNEg%3d%3d).

I did order some of these resettable fuses (http://www.mouser.com/Search/ProductDetail.aspx?R=1210L200SLYRvirtualkey5761000 0virtualkey576-1210L200SLYR).

blackcat4866
01-28-2015, 02:20 AM
I don't know if this is applicable, but tell me what you think.

We had two Toshiba finishers with punch side by side, that kept blowing the EEPROM chip on the punch driver board. I could replace the punch driver board or the EEPROM ... either one would fix the problem for about a week. The error was a punch unit communication error.

It came down to an unusually wired electrical circuit. Each eStudio 856 got a dedicated 12 gauge hot wire, but the 12 gauge neutral and ground were shared. So the neutral return was essentially carrying 32A, and you could see the ground to neutral peaking at 3.5vac. Once the customer got this rewired, we have not had another occurrence.

=^..^=

Synaux
01-28-2015, 05:11 PM
I don't know if this is applicable, but tell me what you think.

We had two Toshiba finishers with punch side by side, that kept blowing the EEPROM chip on the punch driver board. I could replace the punch driver board or the EEPROM ... either one would fix the problem for about a week. The error was a punch unit communication error.

It came down to an unusually wired electrical circuit. Each eStudio 856 got a dedicated 12 gauge hot wire, but the 12 gauge neutral and ground were shared. So the neutral return was essentially carrying 32A, and you could see the ground to neutral peaking at 3.5vac. Once the customer got this rewired, we have not had another occurrence.

=^..^=

That is odd....right? I guess it didn't matter whether or not they were one a line conditioner?

Albonline
01-28-2015, 06:38 PM
I have an FD-503 that keeps blowing the IPC1 on PDB (Punch Drive Board).

Only thing on Konica Minolta site has is to replace the PDB board & confirm sensors PS1, PS5, & PS6, and troubleshooting says the ICP1 is for internal 5v only.

I can replace the ICP and it may last 1 sec, 1 minute, 1 hour, or a month before it blows again. This unit came from a Konica Minolta dealer with the ICP1 blown, I replaced it and it ran for nearly 2 years before blowing again.

I've have looked at the wiring harness's till I'm cross eyed, we can't find anything shorted, cut, or damaged in any way. We have replaced the following electrical components. (Post Insert-er from an FD-501 makes up most of the parts)


PDB (Punch Drive Board)
FDB (Fold Drive Board)
FDOB (Folder Operation Board)
PIDB (Post Insertion Drive Board)
DCPS (DC Power Supply)
JAMIB (Jam Indicator Board)
MFDB1 & MFDB2 (Multi Feed Detection Board's 1 & 2)
Sensors replaced (21 Total) (PS1, PS5, PS6, PS35, PS36, PS44, PS47, PS31, PS38, PS39, PS41, PS42, PS45, PS48, PS46, PS37, PS40, PS32, PS33, PS43, & PS34)
Motors replaced (6 total) (M1, M17, M3, M9, M8, & M7)
Solenoids (SD13 & SD14)
Variable Resistors VR31 & VR32
Clutches CL1 & CL2


The FDCB (Folder Control Board) is the last original board in the folder.

Any suggestions or anyone have an FD-503 they could sell?



put a 3a inline fuse in place of the icp. think unit is sourcing too much current. most loads go through that icp.

blackcat4866
01-29-2015, 03:39 AM
That is odd....right? I guess it didn't matter whether or not they were one a line conditioner?

It wouldn't have made a bit of difference. I give the credit of tracking this down to a maintenance supervisor that took the time to pin out the circuits. =^..^=

Frostwolf
02-02-2015, 08:18 PM
This is one of those wait and see problems. I've installed this 1210L200SLYR (http://www.mouser.com/Search/ProductDetail.aspx?R=1210L200SLYRvirtualkey5761000 0virtualkey576-1210L200SLYR) fuse and its currently running again. I have another board ready to try if this one is to low amperage with another fuse (http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Littelfuse/1210L350SLWR/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMsxR%252bBXi4wRUIMo%2fvs2cxsbfepWN187 KuM%3d).

Thanks for the input.

allan
02-02-2015, 08:43 PM
If you keep on upping the amperage something else is going to give, on the upside it may just pinpoint the problem. Just follow the smoke trail:p.

Hansoon
02-03-2015, 09:03 AM
LOL

Hans

blackcat4866
02-04-2015, 04:56 AM
If you keep on upping the amperage something else is going to give, on the upside it may just pinpoint the problem. Just follow the smoke trail:p.

Here in the US we call that the "Smoke Test". =^..^=

Frostwolf
03-04-2015, 02:54 PM
Update:

As of now the machine has run nearly a month with this reset-able fuse in place of the 2.3 ICP1.

Mouser Link (http://www.mouser.com/Search/ProductDetail.aspx?R=1210L200SLYRvirtualkey5761000 0virtualkey576-1210L200SLYR)

cmitch
01-14-2019, 09:13 PM
We are the unfortunate owners of this unit. It failed again last April, 2018 while offline folding was being done. The notorious resettable fuse as mentioned here is blown. The tech that posted here, Frostwolf, no longer works for the service company so we no longer have an inserter which hampers our ability to use the machine and the techs they have now seem to be unable to fix it ( they tried twice to fix it but not sure they soldered the right fuse in). I seen that there was a theory it may be a problem upstream instead of the unit itself. If that is the case that a power surge from somewhere else in the machine is causing this issue, then installing a new FD 503 won't fix the issue. Correct? He did say folder control board was the only original board left as well.

Custom Search