PDA

View Full Version : Kyocera FS-1300D Running Costs

Custom Search

TA_Tech
05-08-2008, 08:29 PM
Hi Everybody

My company recently decided to start selling Triumph-Adler printers (aka Kyocera). Our first batch of printers arrived... the Kyocera FS-1300D. Looks like a great little machine, the only problem is the cost per print.

My manager has given me the task to research costing options for this machine. So any help that you guys can give me will be greatly appreciated.... I'm just a technician trying to impress the boss man with the hopes of oneday moving up in the company. Below is a brief summary of my costing problem.

To cover toner only and break even, we need to charge 17cents per print :eek: (South-African cents (7.59 Rand to the dollar - do the math if you like)). This is without compensating for call-out, labour, spares, etc.

Does anybody have any bright ideas on how i can reduce the price per print for this machine, and somehow compensate for time and material.

Thanking Anybody Who Replies In Advance

blackcat4866
05-09-2008, 02:08 AM
I don't agree with your math. Average price for a TK-132 is $74.00.
Divide that by 7,200 prints per cartridge (@ 5% fill) = .010277 per print.

I haven't had much luck pricing the three consumables on the web DK-130, DV-142U, FK-130U. But if we guess at $500 for the lot, that's 0.005 per print.

I don't know how you bill for labor, so I'll pull some more numbers out of the air: 2 hours labor @ $150 per hour = 0.003 per print

So that's a total of 0.018277 cost per copy. Add a penny for profit and your up to 3 cents per print. How does that add up to 17 cent per print for toner only? That's $1,224.00 per cartridge US dollars.

We don't take quite that large a markup.

=^..^=

TA_Tech
05-10-2008, 07:04 PM
Thank You Blackcat for your reply. Like I said, I appreciate any advise and suggestions.