Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Service Manager 1,000+ Posts

Future of copy repair

Anyone else see this nightmare coming???

I have an aging service department, most of have been together over 20 years..all of us are late 50s early 60s..I can't find anyone to take a entry level position..Every applicant is either a IT pro looking for a desk job, or someone that has 0 experience in this field. I have no problem with no experience, that's what schools are for..The issue I'm facing is housing..no entry level tech can afford to live within 50 miles of my biggish city..it's one thing to drive 50 miles to sit in the office all day, it's another to drive 50, just to start driving for the rest of the day, and add that 50 miles back home..With gas near 4.50 and 1 bedrooms starting at 2000 and up, unless you are making 60-70K there just is no way you can even be close to your territory. So, my guys retire, I can't fill the spots and pretty soon I have 1/2 the techs covering twice the territory..this means everyone will be holding 20-30 calls with 3-4 day response times. How long will office customers put up with this and I can just imaging the response from a production customer..Hey, see you in 3 days, order the parts, then back in 3 days..It's not like copiers are going away soon!!! how do we deal with this?

Re: Future of copy repair

Quote Originally Posted by emujo2 View Post
    Anyone else see this nightmare coming???

..this means everyone will be holding 20-30 calls with 3-4 day response times. How long will office customers put up with this and I can just imaging the response from a production customer..Hey, see you in 3 days, order the parts, then back in 3 days..It's not like copiers are going away soon!!! how do we deal with this?
    Sure way to burn out your remaining techs and loose customers. I hope you find someone soon. If you can't up your services charges...