Trusted Tech 50+ Posts

Question Copy scan quality on Canon IR ADV C5560i III

I've been supporting a fleet of Canon IR ADV C5051 copiers for the past several years, and then some Canon IR ADV C5255. Now I'm also supporting a Canon IR ADV C5560i III and the scan quality compared to the older models is quite bad when it comes to scanning light grays like pencil.

Here is an example. This is a copy of some handwriting, which we copy/scan often.

pencil copy example.jpg

LEFT: Original pencil on paper.
    2nd: Copy using one of their old Canon IR ADV C5051 models (about 8 years old)
    3rd: Copy using one of their new Canon IR ADV C5560i III models (about 1 month old)
    RIGHT: Copy using one of their new 5560i models with density increased and black color adjust turned up.

What I've already tried:
    - Auto adjust gradation - Full
    - Scanning from the glass as well as the ADF - same thing.
    - Scanning to PDF and viewing on the computer - same thing.
    - Settings on the new copier including Density, Background Density, Color Management - turning black up, Sharpness turning that down and up, and probably a few other things that didn't make any difference.

The above, especially the settings, made some difference, but the underlying problem is the quality of the scan - the original smooth pencil line is jagged and broken up, not smooth. So no matter what settings I apply, it's trying to correct a terrible original scan.

Note, making a copy of the Canon CA-8 TEST SHEET (11x17) shows that the color overall looks really good. All bright and vibrant colors look as they should.

This seems to be an issue with the lighter tones, maybe even specifically pencil.

The users note that this issue only happens when they scan or copy colored text with pencil notes. Black only documents with pencil notes scan generally fine (not as nice as the old copier, but passable).