I am a PC technician at McMurdo Station in Antarctica. We have no authorized Canon service facilities on this continent, nor do we have a relationship with an authorized dealer, so I am throwing myself upon the mercy of the experts in this forum to guide me through repairing this machine.
History and symptom
From my predecessor, who responded to a complaint about white streaks on the output: "Opened up left side of printer and removed and cleaned laser glass. Issue was partially resolved but still had white streaks near the bottom from toner falling onto the glass. Removed laser glass and cleaned a second time. On powering on printer, it now errors out with e000733-0005 and will not boot." What I see now is e000733-0000.
Research
I understand from the service manual and other postings that these errors both indicate Printer communication error: A communication error between the DC Controller PCB and the Main Controller PCB2 is detected at startup. Suggested remedies:

1. Turn OFF and then ON the main power -- Done, of course.
  2. Check the connection of the Flexible Cable between the DC Controller PCB (UN9) and the Main Controller PCB2. -- removed and re-connected ribbon cable, looks fine.
  3. Replace the Flexible Cable. -- see questions below.
  4. Check the power of the DC Controller PCB (UN9). (Check if the initialization operation is executed at startup.) -- see questions below.
  5. Replace the DC Controller PCB (UN9). -- see questions below.
  6. Replace the main Controller PCB2 . -- see questions below.

What I have observed and tried

• Checked the flexible cable between boards, it looks fine. Unplugged at both ends and re-inserted.