Canon iR7105 Issues

So, I've been running this machine for the last five years and it has been one issue after another (I'm a user, not a tech). A few months ago, all four trays stopped detecting paper and on the advice of tech here, I had to replace the DC board at a hefty cost. A couple of days ago, I started getting jam errors on the right door though there was nothing there. The tech tried dusting out the sensors to no avail, but as he did that the issue of no paper detected resurfaced, only this time tray 2 detects paper but the rest are all dead. I don't want to spend again to replace the board. I'm just looking for some guidance here if that is indeed the issue or could it be something else. I'm really wondering if these machines are so expensive to maintain?

Service Manager 1,000+ Posts
    Canon iR7105 Issues

Re: Canon iR7105 Issues

Quote Originally Posted by Hyperventilate View Post
    So, I've been running this machine for the last five years and it has been one issue after another (I'm a user, not a tech). A few months ago, all four trays stopped detecting paper and on the advice of tech here, I had to replace the DC board at a hefty cost. A couple of days ago, I started getting jam errors on the right door though there was nothing there. The tech tried dusting out the sensors to no avail, but as he did that the issue of no paper detected resurfaced, only this time tray 2 detects paper but the rest are all dead. I don't want to spend again to replace the board. I'm just looking for some guidance here if that is indeed the issue or could it be something else. I'm really wondering if these machines are so expensive to maintain?
    In my opinion as a technician it would be advisable to start a service contract with a direct Canon company, always if the machine works a lot ...

teacher-guide-expert-guru 2,500+ Posts
    Canon iR7105 Issues

I agree.