Thanks Thanks:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Technician

Canon IR1022 - No image, drum covered in toner

Canon-iR-1022-Driver.jpg

Hello all!

I am a hobbyist printer technician, looking for advices from other people who might have more experience with Canon machines

Not so long ago I became an owner of this antique with only 60k clicks on the counters. Printer was run in a corporation thus always on genuine toner and imagining assembly.
    Label says that last developer change was done on 45k, then printer was mostly used as a backup machine run occasionally - still on genuine consumables.

The problem I have been having with it is a very light print. Some people states that when a drum is not used for a long time it might take a few (or hundreds) pages to recover.
    Unfortunately in my situation it did not done the trick, thus made a decision to clean a developer.

After that procedure it works even worse - there is no image put on a paper and the drum is always covered in a hard to clean layer of toner powder.
    Drum is really tough to clean with a cloth, it is almost like a both toner and a drum were magnetized correctly but either laser does not work or something is doing a short circuit.
    Secondary transfer roller is also pretty much covered in a layer of toner.

I have already checked all electrical connections. Protective coating on a drum on the right is worn out, but still does not conduct electricity so it is "alright".
    Laser was removed for cleaning, looks okay.

Can it be a faulty PCR? Light print, then this?

IMG20221023174525-2.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images

Service Manager 1,000+ Posts

Re: Canon IR1022 - No image, drum covered in toner

replace the entire drum, you will notice wear and will not be restored by cleaning.

Technician

Quote Originally Posted by GIUBOSS View Post
    replace the entire drum, you will notice wear and will not be restored by cleaning.