Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Senior Tech 100+ Posts
    Colortrac SmartLF Ci 40

Colortrac SmartLF Ci 40

Hello,

There's a listing for this particular scanner in my area listed as "scanning faintly" and "black lines appearing on the scans". The scanner otherwise operates normally, I've been told. I don't have a scanned file from this machine, unfortunately. I will go and inspect it in the following days in person, hopefully.

I was just curious if anyone of you with some experience servicing scanners like these, upon hearing this, do you have any suggestions on what things I should check for in order to get an assessment on what I am looking at?

Would this be worth fixing or is it simply paperweight? I am guessing it's either a problem with its mainboard/image processing board or a bad CIS array, if the problem is in one specific area, but that's just an educated guess, as I have zero experience dealing with machines like these.

Thanks.

Senior Tech 100+ Posts
    Colortrac SmartLF Ci 40

Re: Colortrac SmartLF Ci 40

I should also note that, judging by the kind of business that is selling the machine, it probably has seen little to moderate use over the years. Also note that the machine is in really good cosmetic condition.

Master Of The Obvious 10,000+ Posts
    Colortrac SmartLF Ci 40

If I were to do some guessing, I'd say it's possible that the CIS(s) & the white reference roller are dirty or the roller wrinkled. If the roller is wrinkled or will not clean, it will need to be replaced. Once cleaned you may need to calibrate the scanner with the Normalization & Stitch Target. If the enduser has lost the chart, that will add $75 to the call.

This scanner is used on a lot of the Canon iPF7xx series MFPs so we see quite a lot of them, though they don't usually see very heavy usage.

I could offer you something more substantial with a photo. =^..^=
    If you'd like a serious answer to your request:
    1) demonstrate that you've read the manual