Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Retired 10,000+ Posts
    Analog Fax lines could start to go away in August 2022

Re: Analog Fax lines could start to go away in August 2022

Quote Originally Posted by SalesServiceGuy View Post
    I ran into my first VOIP telephony system this week using Cisco IP phones.

This enterprise customers uses a 3rd party box to convert analog fax signal into digital signal sand out to the world.

The problem is the convertor does not work very well and after using all of my tricks to make the Toshiba GD1370NA analog fax board work, the customer cannot send/receive faxes which is important to them.

Toshiba just introduced the GS1100Node which is an IP Fax solution that I have no experience with. There are lots of new terms and concepts to get a handle on. There is also XM Fax.

A lot of customers have VoIP telephone systems with IP phones because it is now less expensive than traditional telephone systems so this is now a new probing question when I sell a new copier with a fax board.

We learn as we work.
    3rd party box was the mistake. Had they informed the ISP and the company installing the Cisco phone system they would have insured that a proper was installed. Never failed every time I have done so.

Service Manager 10,000+ Posts

I've been using Nextiva for our VOIP service and he have a fax line with them, too. Flawless. The call quality is 100x better than any analog line. Fax works flawlessly, also. I just recommended Nextiva to one of my customers and Nextiva sent me a check for $500 for referring them.
    Growth is found only in adversity.

Service Manager 5,000+ Posts

... for most larger enterprises, such as the one that I am currently working with, that have Cisco IP phones on all of their desks, you have work with a Cisco ATA 186 analog to digital convertor box.

You have to make sure the ATA box is set to Passthrough and you must reduce the fax modem speed to 9,600 bps while turning off Error Correction mode.